I believe it was disabled as urls were being set as differently to what was being displayed. E.g. you saw the link to google.com but it was actually redirecting you to a website that looked like namepros.
With the restriction in place now, you can see exactly what you are clicking on.
I don't think it should be changed, and a little inconvenience is better than having to deal with hacking attempts and stolen domains etc.
Joe.