IT.COM

registrars Safest Registrar for High Value Domains (Clawback)

NameSilo
Watch

reachstars

Impact
Hello everyone I am new to this message board and thanks for taking the time to read this thread.

I know most people don't bother to read the terms of service, but after reading some horror stories of registrars clawing back domain names after registration of a high value domain (Like a 2018 thread about network solutions taking back domainnames.com from a legitimate purchase) I began to take interest on the subject of finding a registrar that does not have a history of taking domain names, or clawing back domain names without a justified cause or reason other than stating it says it on their TOS.

After taking a few hours of reading several registrar's service agreement (or TOS as some call it), I find that most have a clause similar to this one

"Suspension and Cancellation. We may in our sole discretion, deny, suspend or cancel any registration or transaction, or place any domain name(s) on registry lock, hold or similar status." (From google domains)

"Your registration of any domain names shall be subject to suspension, cancellation or transfer pursuant to any ICANN adopted specification or policy, or pursuant to any GoDaddy procedure not inconsistent with an ICANN adopted specification or policy (a) to correct mistakes by GoDaddy or the registry operator in registering any domain name; or (b) for the resolution of disputes concerning any domain name.