Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

morf13

Top Member
Impact
Question about a 'DEAD' Trademark

At the trademark checking site-
http://tmsearch.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?f=searchss&state=4805:eyj7py.1.1

If a trademark shows as 'DEAD', can they ever bring it 'Back to life'? Could I reg a domain for a dead trademark, without infringing on their trademark? Anybody know?

I did find this,but don't understand it fully-

What does it mean for a trademark to be dead?

1. a dead or abandoned status for a trademark application means that specific application is no longer under prosecution within the USPTO, and would not be used as a bar against your filing. It does not necessarily mean that there are not other marks that the trademarkexamining attorney would cite.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I would not hesitate to grab it

•••
I'm no legal expert. But since the trademark is dead, I will grab the domain if I like it so much.

•••
As mentioned before you can definitely get it since the trademark is dead. Just make sure to double check a couple of sites that tell you about trademarks to be sure. If there are a bunch of trademarks and most are dead while 1 or 2 are live then I would stay away from that type of domain.

- Will

•••
I actually researched this about a year ago (give or take) and found that if a TM is dead, the only way to get it reinstated was to reapply for the TM. If 2 people are applying for the same TM at the same time and one of these people held the TM previously (and it's dead), then the previous holder would get the TM.

I am NOT a lawyer offering any legal advice, but have done lots of research because of a domain that I wanted when I looked into it.

•••