Dynadot

advice Newbie vs big fish

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

S Agnihotri

Established Member
Impact
Hi,
I'm new to domaining I found AccountingHouse.org on godaddy for $5+renewal in their bargain bin section. I approached one of the prominent player in the industry to seek his advice. within 2 min that domain was no longer available. do you think such incidents are common in the industry ? is this ethical ? or i was foolish

Last edited by a moderator:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
do you think such incidents are common in the industry

Yep. Domain investing is like playing poker...don't ever show your cards (unless it is someone that has earned your trust and proven themselves to be trust worthy).

•••
I approached one of the prominent player in the industry to seek his advice. within 2 min that domain was no longer available
Hi

check whois,sc and see for sure

is this ethical ? or i was foolish

Hi

i'd say naΓ―ve` if anything, simply because of inexperience

if you have to ask advice about buying a .org for $5 + renewal fee
then maybe you don't have confidence in judgement yet

still, there are many domainers, like myself, who think it's unethical to take advantage of anyone, let alone someone who seeks "my" advice.

imo....

•••
Sorry misread your post initially. I didn’t realize you found it in the bargain bin. The good news is I don’t see it as being super valuable anyway :)

That’s low of them to do that, but honestly I haven’t experienced this before. Best of luck!

Last edited:
•••
Hi,
I'm new to domaining I found AccountingHouse.org on godaddy for $5+renewal in their bargain bin section. I approached one of the prominent player in the industry to seek his advice. within 2 min that domain was no longer available. do you think such incidents are common in the industry ? is this ethical ? or i was foolish

Someone else likely snapped it up

Great names in GD Closeouts go quick