NameSilo

Name server questions

Labeled as question in General Domain Discussion, started by omelet, May 23, 2020 at 11:40 PM

Replies:
12
Views:
255

  1. omelet

    omelet Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Hi I've got a question.

    I am brokering a few domain names and I've asked the domain owners to forward their domains to my brokerage website, so that my reach-out to potential buyers sounds more legit.

    Some of the domain owners ask me t provide name servers. I understand it's like when we sell on Brandbucket, we need to change name server to: ns1.brandbucket.com, and ns2.brandbucket.com. But what is my NSs?

    If my brokerage website is abcde.com, shall I ask domain owners to set their name servers to: ns1.abcde.com, and ns2.abcde.com?


    thanks!!!
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020 at 11:41 PM
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. Samer

    Samer Restricted (Chatroom) Blue Account

    Posts:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    4,990
    Great question,
    Feel 99% of websites; uses ns1+ ns2

    The only one ns3+ ns4 first 2 NS is epik

    Epik’s name servers are changing first two NS:
    ns3.epik.com
    ns4.epik.com

    Why? maybe @Rob Monster can say, epik is ns3+ns4
    Disclaimer: Epik is my favorite registrar.
    Followed thread, and your question. GL!!!
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020 at 11:47 PM
  3. omelet

    omelet Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    1,454

    thanks

    If my website is "namesbuy.com", my name servers should be:

    ns1.namesbuy.com
    ns2.namesbuy.com

    ?

    Correct? is it that simple? or need to buy any or setup anything further?
     
  4. Samer

    Samer Restricted (Chatroom) Blue Account

    Posts:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    4,990
    I tend to say yes, and stand by my prev post.

    Know any else who uses ns3+ns4 as 1st 2? Gl

    Samer
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020 at 11:52 PM
  5. HotKey

    HotKey Made in Canada VIP

    Posts:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    6,229
    No, it doesn't work that way. Having a website and having your own nameservers are two different things.

    You probably just want the domain owners to use a simple 302 forward to your site instead, a lot less complicated.
     
  6. Samer

    Samer Restricted (Chatroom) Blue Account

    Posts:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    4,990
    Why not 301?
    isnt 301 consider more “permanent” less error?
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020 at 11:56 PM
  7. HotKey

    HotKey Made in Canada VIP

    Posts:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    6,229
    Other way around.. 301 is permanent. Probably don't want that for domains that are for sale.

    * edit yes correct it is permanent. You want to stick with 302
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020 at 11:56 PM
  8. Samer

    Samer Restricted (Chatroom) Blue Account

    Posts:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    4,990
    Heard “permanent” limits prospective errors?
    What’s “permanent” if 301 can still b changed?

    Samer
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2020 at 12:26 AM
  9. HotKey

    HotKey Made in Canada VIP

    Posts:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    6,229
    I think it has to do with the way it get indexed. 302 is ignored.
     
  10. biggie

    biggie Top Contributor VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    10,095
    Likes Received:
    10,358
    Hi

    question: if the domain earns ppc revenue, the how are you compensating for that?

    question: if the domain is not earning, but was on lander, how do you compensate for exposure difference, if any.

    answer to your question: you can have owner perform a url redirect to your website/
    or you have to create a nameserver at the registrar or host
    google . create nameserver

    or
    they (owners) can set ns to bodis, then select urlredirect and add your site for the banner contact, and they can still earn ppc as before, if any.

    I set up www.biggie.us that way

    imo….
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2020 at 1:05 AM
  11. golan

    golan GolanMedia.com VIP Gold Account

    Posts:
    4,281
    Likes Received:
    4,775
    But it's totally your choice, why you ask us? )) Make it ns1.abcde.com and ns2.abcde.com, or ns3.abcde.com and ns4.abcde.com, or obama.abcde.com and trump.abcde.com, or even use as a root any other your domain sitting on the same server, like ns1.abcdesale.com, and ns2.abcdesale.com. Like Parkingcrew do - their site is parkingcrew.com but client nameservers are ns1/ns2.parkingcrew.net.

    You create these nameservers at your side, it's totally your call.

    It's perhaps wise not to mix the client domains with your own nameservers, i.e. if your site is on ns1/ns2 then put the client sites on ns3/ns4. Like at Epik.

    Or make it by redirect, as friends suggested, or by A/CNAME record.

    Not sure what to choose? Ask your technical guy. Don't have one? Ask your hosting support for advice.

    Good luck ))
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2020 at 7:21 AM
  12. tonyk2000

    tonyk2000 Top Contributor VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    2,761
    Option 1: Check the help section of the registrar you client is using. If they offer free webforwarding - then direct your client to appropriate instructions. Such as (GoDaddy case):
    https://www.godaddy.com/help/forward-my-domain-12123

    Option 2: If the registrar in question does not offer (free) web forwarding (or if the client has configuration difficulties), indeed, let them set dns servers. The servers of your webhosting company. You host your brokerage website abcde.com somewhere, so you are using something like ns1.yourhosting.com and ns2.youhosting.com as dns for abcde.com. So, give them the same set of dns servers.
    Next step: start hosting these domains as extra websites inside your existing webhosting account. They would not serve any content, but would be set in forwarding mode. Most hosting control panels do allow such a setup, or you can always put just one index.php inside, like this:

    <?php
    header("Location: http://abcde.com", true, 302);
    exit;
    ?>
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2020 at 8:27 AM
  13. Mytz.com

    Mytz.com Upgraded Member Blue Account

    Posts:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    31

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!
Topics / Tags:
NameWorth
  1. NamePros uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this site, you are agreeing to our privacy policy, terms, and use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...