Dynadot

Investing for Appreciation?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Here's my situation: I have purchased 350 domains in the past few months on speculation of the GPS industry. Since this is still an emerging industry, my domains do not generate high volumes of traffic.

I am a rookie to the domain business and I am trying to determine what is the best way to subsidize my holding costs. I am trying Fabulous.com but their optimization does not include GPS related advertisers. Combined with low traffic, I am getting poor results. Maybe this is all I can expect?

I would like to hold onto the names for 2-5 years. In the meantime, what is the best direction for an "appreciation" investor like myself? Is investing for appreciation a wise move? Thank you for any help.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
You could also try some affiliate programs if you think the domains can/will generate some traffic.

As far as PPC programs go, Fabulous or Sedo might make you your fees back at least.

•••
If all your domains are directed towards one industry then just find the best affiliate for that industry or better yet create your own content. It wouldnt be hard if its just one industry. You could slap up a small info page about GPS with a for sale sign up and slap up an google adsense banner which would probably make you more then parking it then at any other place.

•••
Good question, helpful answer.

Thanks to both of you. :tu: I keep learning a little bit more about this business as I read.

.edu said:
If all your domains are directed towards one industry then just find the best affiliate for that industry or better yet create your own content. It wouldnt be hard if its just one industry. You could slap up a small info page about GPS with a for sale sign up and slap up an google adsense banner which would probably make you more then parking it then at any other place.

•••