Dynadot

Evaluating Domains For Development

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Nametra.com

VIP Member
Impact
Greetings:

I've been buying and selling domains since 1999. Over the years I've developed some simple landing pages for a few, but nothing ever too in depth or complex.

I'm now looking to develop some of the more capable / quality domains in my portfolio into full scale websites, but I'm struggling to decide which of them would be most suitable for development. I think I have a lot of domains with great potential, but too many options is sometimes not a good thing.

Interests aside, are there any recommendations in terms of which sites are most suitable for development? For example, I've got some domains suitable for product sales, some for niche sites, some for job boards or listing sites, some for portals, some for blogs, etc.

Are there any good sources of information on the pre-development / evaluation process that you can share?

Also, are there any companies that can help or partner with you through the development process and have any of you worked with them?

Thanks in advance!

Andy

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
If the website will make money from ads or selling things of others, it will need organic (free of charge) traffic to be profitable. SEO is an extremely complex thing for everyone. What you may need to know is that the domain will not matter much in most cases.

If the website will make money via selling something you produce or buy, then the domain has importance. Because you would want branding the business.