IT.COM

Defining your World: All About Constants

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I still remember the time I was a PHP beginner, these little constant things were always a source of confusion. I remember attempting to overwrite their values like you do with variables and being presented with an unfriendly error. What on earth could their use be?

Funnily enough, I now use constants all the time. In PHP4 constants could be defined one way, and one way only:

PHP:
define('MY_CONSTANT', 'TalkPHP.com');

However, since the much anticipated arrival of PHP5, we now have another way to define them directly inside our classes - the same place you would initiate member variables:

PHP:
const MY_CONSTANT = 'TalkPHP.com';

Notice how there are no quotes around the constant in this example. These are called class constants. In the previous example of defining a global constant, you must place quotes around the define. Failure to do so will give you another one of those pretty PHP notices. Very much unwelcome!

We're Not Just For Show

Constants don't just sit their looking luscious in amongst your code like a daffodil in the grass. Like a daffodil, constants do have purpose.

When you initiate a variable, that variable is not global unless you specify so using either $GLOBALS or the global construct. The good thing is that constants defined using the former example are global no matter what. That is:

PHP:
define('I_AM', 'Global!');

Whilst the latter example is only global to the class it was defined in. Constants do have their protocol though. Thankfully most of it is common-sense once you understand what you can or can't do with variables.

• Constants cannot have spaces:
PHP:
define('my Constant', 'TalkPHP.com'); // won't work
  • Constants cannot begin with an integer:
PHP:
define('123myConstant', 'TalkPHP.com'); // won't work
  • Constants should be uppercase although either case will work:
PHP:
define('myconstant', 'TalkPHP.com'); // will work