IT.COM

Beware of This Scam

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Ghos7

Impact
I feel like I'm obligated to put this post in multiple place but I'm sure the moderators wont like that. Hopefully the guys in the beginner section will come across this because I'm a novice myself.

Today I received an email asking if a domain of mine was still available for sale. This is the email below:

My client is interested in purchasing xxxxxxxxxxxxx.com for a new project.

The buyer is a rich investor from Qatar.

He does not speak English very well and I represent his interests in International deals.

Are you still interested in selling?

The buyer can offer a good price.

If you have more names I can help you to sell them.

Are you an experienced seller?

Best Regards,

David Abramovitz

Domain Broker

Goulston & Storrs attorney

Hagdud Haivri Street, Jerusalem 92345.

Israel"

I replied stating that the domain was still available and I was currently considering offers basically. The scammer then replied with whats is below:

The buyer offers $15,000.
Do you have a certificate?

He needs this for accounting/tax purposes.

If you don't have it's not a problem. You can order it online.

He needs it from a source he knows and trusts.

The certificate must include the following:

1. Independent valuation of the market price. It will show your domain name is not overpriced. On the other hand if the valuation comes higher, he will increase the price accordingly. In the domain name industry, there are many appraisal tools that people use to estimate the value of a domain name. My client does not want to risk and doesn't accept services that use scripts. If you are unsure about some service feel free to ask me.

2. Trademark infringement verification. It proves your domain has no trademark problems. He would like this verification to be included in the appraisal report. It's not a problem because some companies include the TM verification for free.