IT.COM

domain Appraisal Request: CaptainSully.com

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Markovian

Impact
Hi everyone, my name is Mark and while this is my first post to the forum, I have been a lurker from time to time. I am very new to domaining, and recently acquired what I think may be a somewhat valuable domain name: CaptainSully.com

For those outside of the US, the story of Captain Sully's heroic jet landing is the subject of a major motion picture starring Tom Hanks and directed by Clint Eastwood. The movie was released a few days ago and is currently at the top of the charts. Consequently, I suspect that consumer/search interest in "Captain Sully" and the like is probably heightened at the moment, which may provide some nice monetization opportunities. I have searched closed auctions but can't seem to find anything comparable with which to set a price. I will defer to the collective wisdom of the room - what might this be worth? Thank you in advance, all!

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Well in general it's a great domain...but personally I don't think you should try to profit off of a hero's name. Additionally, if Sully (or perhaps even the movie production company ?) wanted to, they could try to claim that his name is a famous mark and that he is entitled to the domain...that might be a stretch, I'm not a lawyer so I could be wrong...but as far as a market for this sort of thing, I could only really see like a fan site...and I'm not sure how much a fan would pay for a domain.

•••
Welcome Markovian, I am somewhat of a newbie as well. I will say thank you for a well constructed and informative appraisal post. It is refreshing from the usual, 'what's it worth' communique.

I'm aware of the story and forthcoming movie and that nasty little Pestibot says $560. Whereas the colorful and liberal Nokta says $3,943.