IT.COM

Mozilla/Firefox (css) width: 100%; issue.

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Hi,

I am new to his forum. Trying to play around with CSS and (x)html.

I was trying to make a page layout with css positioning (boxing). This worked OK, in IE6 but when I loaded the same page in Mozilla the Width: 100% does not work at all (it only is 1px wide intead of the full width).

The strange thing is when I validate the code through a css validator it says code is valid.

To clarify I will show you the css code.
Code:
body	{
	position: absolute;
	background-color: #123456;
	color: #FFFFFF;
	margin: 0; /* to prevent IE from screwing up 100% width */
	padding: 0; /* to prevent IE from screwing up 100% width */
	font-family: verdana,Georgia;
	font-size: 14px;

}

#header	{
	background-color: silver;
	position: absolute;
	top: 40px;
	left: 0px;
	width: 100%;
	border: 1px solid;
	height: 20px;
}

And HTML code:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>

<body>
<div id=header></div>
</body>
</html>

What am I doing wrong here??
IE works ok, Mozilla/Firefox NOT ok.

BTW, Where did you guys hide the search function for this forum. Could not fin it anywhere.

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
width: 100% won't work in Opera either I believe, not sure exactly how to get teh same effect when using absolute positioning.

•••
I just noticed that I should have posted this in progra,,ing. Sorry my mistake.

One more or less work-around I found was that you can put: width: 100%;