IT.COM

Is cryptocurrency the best term for digital currencies?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
I read somewhere a branding expert say that cryptocurrency is actually not a good name for digital currencies because of its length and negative connotation ("crypt").

But rather than the shorter crypto, he suggests that altcoin should become the most used term in the future because it is easier to spell and sounds better. But as I understand it (sorry, I'm a newbie...), altcoin does not include Bitcoin so is not really all-emcompassing.

I like digital currency and dc for short, but it seems some experts claim that it is wrong to call them currencies at all...

So what do you think will be the most used term in the future not relating to a specific coin? Which terms should we be regging/buying?:

- crypto
- cryptocurrency
- cc for cryptocurrency
- digital currency
- digital cash
- dc for digital currency or digital cash
- digital money
- dm for digital money
- virtual currency
- vc for virtual currency
- coin
- altcoin
- something else?

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I may call it electronic money, but still it's too lengthy and not brandable.

•••
'Cryptocurrency' does seem to be establishing a foothold, however things can change quickly in the world of the internet. I don't agree that 'altcoin' sounds better.

•••
•••
Until some higher entity as ISO or by agreement of all cc issuers is decided how to call it we can just speculate. Imo "cryptocurrency" is best name because unmistakably describes what it is.

For other names in some cases many people will think that is something else:

- cc - Carbon Copy :xf.smile: or Coco Chanel :xf.cool:
- digital currency
- digital cash
- dc - District of Columbia :xf.rolleyes:
- digital money
- dm - Drogerie Markt :facepalm:
- virtual - you have it but you dont have it :smuggrin:
- vc - Viet Cong :ROFL:
- coin
- altcoin - Alt key on keyboard :bag:

•••