Dynadot

GoDaddy "Ultimate" shared hosting?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
For several mini sites all with low bandwith requirements, how is Godaddy "Ultimate" shared hosting?

I have seen complaints saying that their hosting is slow and other complaints including bad support, (supposedly) arbitrary extra charges being levied, undeclared connecction limits (applies to all shared hosting plans?), etc.
Also, they don't have cPanel? And no Fantastico? If no cPanel, how similar is their interface to cPanel?

Most seem to say "stay away"... Based on my brief search I will probably use something else, but would be interested in seeing what people say...

Thanks!!!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I can't speak for everyone, just my personal experience with Godaddy shared hosting. I've been using godaddy since 2005 and have received top notch tech support since the beginning. The few issues I called in about that related to my sites ended up being my own fault with 3rd party scripts and wrong php versions. The reality of it is that Godaddy isn't a personal developer, they are a hosting company so one should never expected them to fix 3rd party bad script code, some people don't understand the difference.

I normally run anywhere from 15 to 50 sites at the same time on the one shared hosting account with no problems. There are times that godaddy itself or the server I am on may experience technical difficulties (I.E. ddos, dos, hard drive failure, etc.) once every few years (which is expected with any hosting company and server equipment).

If you aren't getting much traffic and or resource usage then running a network of mini-sites on a shared hosting plan not only works out great, you also save a ton of money it costs to try & run a vps / vds + paying for added management (maintenance & security).