| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #27 (permalink) | ||||||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,540
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/545719-i-didnt-register-it-moniker-did.html
| ||||||||
| | |
| | #30 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: In a 3 Bedroom Flat ©
Posts: 3,691
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ â€* Did We Know That There Aren't Really Thousands Of Bands Who Might Be Interesting, We Will Get To Deleting All Bands That Aren't In Flames, Cannibal Corpse, Morbid Angel, Deicide â€* | ||||
| | |
| | #32 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Nov 2003 Location: Lauderdale By The Sea, FL
Posts: 143
![]() | registrations Folks - Moniker nor Oversee front runs or has anything to do with registering names that customers try to register through our registrars. We do not practice this and never have. Many companies still taste domains and there are many attempts to register the same names all over the world from all registrars...even at the same time. Should you have any questions regarding any problems or difficulties registering domains at Moniker, please email me personally and I will get you help. We continue to be the safest, most ethical and most secure registrar in our industry. We also do not allow registrations to go to others if they were not legitimately not registered to them. So Zorag - your issue may have been with a ccTLD where registrations are manual throughout the industry and you do not know who registered those domains first or how they process. I can assure you that the registry controls these issues not the registrar. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=545719 Thank you
__________________ Monte Cahn Founder/President - Moniker.com & SnapNames.com Monte@Moniker.com O - 954-984-8445 |
| | |
| | #33 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 231
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Note: Oversee Research and Development, LLC has over 320,000 names registered?
Last edited by Auraka; 12-28-2008 at 12:58 PM.
| ||||
| | |
| | #34 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Nov 2003 Location: Scotland
Posts: 5,069
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ Manage your portfolio using my new Domain Portfolio Management script. Securing Your Domain Name From Theft | ||||
| | |
| | #35 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: May 2005 Location: www.chrome.us
Posts: 5,217
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Take it easy guys! Not many (if any) of the executive managers of the big registrars would have even responded to this thread. I believe that it would be fair and professional to let Monte work it out with the OP before anyone here passes judgment. Once the situation has been addressed by the only 2 people that can potentially shed light on this situation, the OP and Monte, the updates will show whether there's foul play or a fluke at work. Get the blood hounds back on the leash, there's no feast! M. |
| | |
| | #36 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,092
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | What about other registrars? What registrar's does oversee.net use to pick up names that are searched to test for traffic? You can't dispute the fact that they don't do that, when it's happened to me, and others.
| ||||
| | |
| | #37 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Canada
Posts: 1,030
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Play it safe and don't use any web based search. On Mac I use terminal, just type: whois domainname.com
__________________ Established Premium Games Domain For Sale |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #39 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Texas
Posts: 951
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
This is a very simple situation so there's no need for any confusion or generalities. 1. I searched for a domain at Moniker and it was available. 2. I didn't register the domain. 3. The domain was registered by Oversee two days later. 4. The domain was subsequently dropped 5 (+/-) days later. That's it. If Moniker/Oversee is saying that they just happened to stumble upon this domain, then so be it. I do find the bolded wording used by MCahn in his/her post interesting because I never did "try to register" the domain. I however did search for it using Moniker.com. The second underlined excerpt really has little to do with the specifics here. Oversee was in fact the registrant of the domain and everybody knows other companies do this. | ||||
| | |
| | #41 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Nov 2003 Location: Lauderdale By The Sea, FL
Posts: 143
![]() | I did not call anyone a liar - citynichejobs.com is available to register....and if it was registered two days later by another organization - then it had nothing to do with whois or registry front running. I stand by my claim and post. We do not share or use whois checks with anyone...including our parent company and our parent does not use whois checks to register domains...the name was not even registered at Moniker.
__________________ Monte Cahn Founder/President - Moniker.com & SnapNames.com Monte@Moniker.com O - 954-984-8445 |
| | |
| | #42 (permalink) | ||||
| Yofie.com Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: DotWeekly.com
Posts: 2,935
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
This is not the first time I have seen/heard posts like this (not just Moniker) and it's a He Said, She Said situation always. I personally think Moniker is The Safest registrar for your domain names and doing available check and they wouldn't do something like this. It's been said and stated here... If you do a search, domain is available, Register it. "Not having a password" is a pretty lame excuse if you ask me anyway, not having the money and so on..
__________________ DotWeekly.com <--My Blog, Readers Welcome! | ||||
| | |
| | #43 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 404
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Excellent platform Monte! Best of luck for the new year .. | ||||
| | |
| | #45 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: SoCal
Posts: 105
![]() ![]() ![]() | bulk check safety
I'm with Namelogic on this one. I search for all domain availability at Fabulous. A few years ago, when i saved my searches to their "shopping cart", I discovered about 5 out of 300 domains were bought by a syndicate of Fabulous, but those domains were found by me on Overture search terms, so i couldn't really "accuse" them of filtering my shopping cart picks. I wrote to them and they said they didn't check their customer's shopping carts, and I believed them. Suffice to say, my main registrar for new domains is: ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=545719 Fabulous.
__________________ Stephen Douglas BLOG: http://www.successclick.com Domain Industry Consultant DomainRelevance.com | ||||
| | |
| | #46 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Florida
Posts: 106
![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() Happy New Year Stephen! | ||||
| | |