| | |||||||
| |||||||
| New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login | ![]() |
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member | I don't see this posted and I just got it so I want to warn people about emails that are telling people they need to renew their domains.
.
__________________ Internet and Domain Consulting - Contact me via PM for help. Mesothelioma Cancer - Free Internet Magazines - 5k Challenge - 5a5.org - 4 Mesothelioma - Uncapitalized | ||||
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | Heres the one i got today about a domain i dropped, they only charge $79.95 a year to reg! BARGAIN! They will vey nicely pay $7.95 at GD, and resell it back to me for $79.95, Jokers. Your domain name www.vanuatuholidays.info will expire 2009-09-04. You can renew your domain automatically with ISP Renewal. Click on the link below in order to extend your domain for an additional year. You will receive a confirmation when your domain is extended. Click here to renew your domain now. --------> DOMAIN RENEWAL You will receive a confirmation when the payment has been recorded and your domain has been renewed. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Additional information about ISP Renewal ISP Renewal administrates domain addresses. ISP Renewal also consults companies in relation to Internet domain ownership. We inform enterprises about their domain portfolio, and remind businesses if a domain is due to expire and inform when it is time to renew a domain. If you choose ISP Renewal to renew your domain for you, we ask you to click on the link above. If you do not wish to extend your domain you may disregard this e-mail. When ISP Renewal renews your domain no “Whois” information will be changed The domain will be renewed for another year. You will continue with your current Domain Service Provider. You can also request your existing Domain Service Provider to renew your domain. If you have any other enquiries or questions, please contact our customer service center at +44 20 3355 4951 or via E-mail: support@isprenewal.net |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #5 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | In my case, the domain is registered for over a year, so even if you paid them $79, I doubt you would get anything for your money...!
__________________ Internet and Domain Consulting - Contact me via PM for help. Mesothelioma Cancer - Free Internet Magazines - 5k Challenge - 5a5.org - 4 Mesothelioma - Uncapitalized |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | I get these every few weeks. The thing is - technically its not a scam. Technically its just another domain company that wants you to go with them, instead of who you are already with. However, it is technically a scam because a lot of people are fooled by this crap. They get scared and dont think rationally, and figure oh crap I better hurry up and do this or Ill lose my domain! Frankly, I think any trickery like that is a scam. |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Account Closed | yes, technically it is not a scam, the email is cleverly worded. Similiar to the snail mail ploy used by Domain Registry of America. ---------- Post added at 08:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:51 PM ---------- but on reading this further, they are not claiming to be a registrar and trying to lure your domain away to them. They are claiming to be a domain renewal service, and they will renew with your current registrar, for which they will need your login details to renew it for you ![]() Who is seriously going to give out login details for a 3rd party to renew for you. All registrars have an auto renew function for free. Smells like they are trying to steal domains by gaining access to accounts IMO. |
| | |