NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Interesting spam: "Magic Submit"

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
6 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2009, 04:27 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: western hemisphere
Posts: 771
thunderforce has much to be proud ofthunderforce has much to be proud ofthunderforce has much to be proud ofthunderforce has much to be proud ofthunderforce has much to be proud ofthunderforce has much to be proud ofthunderforce has much to be proud ofthunderforce has much to be proud ofthunderforce has much to be proud of
 


Adoption Save a Life Child Abuse

Question Interesting spam: "Magic Submit"


I received this email recently:
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/560826-interesting-spam-magic-submit.html

"Hi,

I came accross your domain on the Internet and I wanted to know if you have plans to build a site yet? It's a really bad economy now, so i wanted to share the following tip with you. When I got my site designed for my auto-repair business, I found a company that gives away professionally designed websites without any cost (no joke). I highly suggest you check them out (they're funded by a huge Internet millionaire).

http://www.magicsubmit.com

Hope this helps, good luck with your site!

Bob"

Upon searching, I didn't find "magic submit" in other threads here. Scam, or possibly a genuine offer?
__________________
Thanks to all of the nice and reliable members here. Goodbye, and God bless.
thunderforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 07:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
HeyGeek's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 348
HeyGeek will become famous soon enoughHeyGeek will become famous soon enough
 



It seems he is trying to sell webhosting by designing free sites, as you have to purchase a years worth of hosting at $19.99/month to get the deal. Judging by the quality of his site I would say it's not such a good deal.
HeyGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Emperor Penguin
 
snowbird's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 727
snowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant futuresnowbird has a brilliant future
 


9/11/01 :: Never Forget Animal Rescue Child Abuse Cancer Baby Health Save a Life Animal Cruelty Save a Life Adoption Cancer Survivorship Ethan Allen Fund Parkinson's Disease SIDS Marrow Donor Program Baby Health Animal Rescue Save a Life Child Abuse Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Save a Life Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Baby Health Cancer Special Olympics Child Abuse Baby Health Animal Rescue Save a Life Wildlife Animal Cruelty SIDS Save a Life Baby Health Child Abuse Protect Our Planet Save a Life Animal Rescue Save a Life Parkinson's Disease Protect Our Planet Baby Health Child Abuse Special Olympics Alzheimer's Diabetes Protect Our Planet Save a Life Animal Cruelty Save a Life Autism Animal Rescue Special Olympics Adoption Baby Health Wildlife Cancer Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Adoption Baby Health Save a Life Parkinson's Disease Animal Cruelty Alzheimer's Parkinson's Disease Protect Our Planet Child Abuse Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS) Autism Animal Rescue AIDS/HIV Adoption
I would definately be fishy about this. Just looking at the whois record for the domain makes me suspicious. The domain MagicSubmit.com was registered August 2008. All of the contact information is blocked by whois privacy protection and the domain was registered at 1and1. Seeing that all that criteria alone would make me not want to be with them. The domain is also only registered for 1 year. A business that is serious about what they are doing would register the domain for more than just 1 year.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=560826


ALSO NOTICE:

MagicSubmit.com forwards to allfreedesign.com.

So I am sure there are many other domains that lead to this site as well. I am sure he is mainly in the business of making a quick profit.
Last edited by snowbird; 02-20-2009 at 08:54 AM.
snowbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger