| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Diggin' the Domains... ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,937
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| NameDato.com Join Date: Dec 2006 Location: Jackson's Whole
Posts: 3,296
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | New members + Moneybookers + free email account = SCAM in 95% of cases ![]() It's difficult for new members who are not scammers to become verified members of NP I remember that it was difficult for me. Happily I had DigitalPoint and one Russian forum history with a lot of positive feedback, so it was easy for me to start selling-buying here.
__________________ |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,228
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | This dude tried to scam $850 for LLL net. I actually wanted to contact you last night to see which names he sold you but you weren't online. The old mantra of "if it's too good to be true"...... PS. I know PayPal sucks but Moneybookers? Hmm, I don't know.
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: USA
Posts: 1,965
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Hello Denver, I was actually contacted through multiple PM's about these 2 names since I was the first to ask "him" about them. I sent him 2 offers around the same time you posted sold. He also offered me alr.net which is registered to a Don Daniels. If you need any copies of his PM's I would be glad to send them your way. What does the user JohnBolg say about this? Jeremy |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2007 Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 2,553
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | i am really sorry to hear what happened to you Denver you did many things to avoid scamming but they werent enough i would have waited a little more to send the money besides, i think it is a good precation if we make a call or email the registrar where the names are to check if there is any issues with them and depending on the answer we would cancel the transaction (in this case not sending the money) you have been a great domainer and you will have a great profit rom your sales which will cover this lost for sure! thanks for sharing this as you will help other people dont lose their money! |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 537
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Sorry to hear what happened to you, bro. But this moron has also robbed someone at DNF. http://www.dnforum.com/f26/bought-vi...ad-299312.html (If that's not your DNF nick.) |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #7 (permalink) |
| Diggin' the Domains... ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,937
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | thanks for the consolation, all! yeah, of course i wouldve liked to have waited longer to pay, but i really didnt want to be unfair simply because he is new.... i figured if the admin email listed with whois is legit and enom allows the push, i dont want to leave a seller hanging with names gone and payment 'pending indefinetely'....i know i would be sweating bullets if it was me, new here and not knowing the buyer! so, i got burnt, but again glad that others didnt! well, im not holding my breath on a refund from moneybookers, but if anyone has ANY good advice on the matter of moneybookers and refunds in cases of fraud, please share with us all! thanks again, everyone! denver |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| Gutless Wonderâ„¢ Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,554
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Sorry to see this happen.... Last night I received a PM from sf2010 about ALR.net and it did look very suspicious. His IP went to Germany, the whois went to NY. Then he used some other whois address for the LLLL.com domains. If you could post the names here in public, so others can watch for them, that would be a big help. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=469727 At least we caught him in the early stages, it could've been a lot worse.. ![]() Thanks again sf2010 for the report. Watch out for the following domains involved in the scam: RGBS.com GAPI.com ADDZ.com ALR.net -Bill
__________________ ...lame...
Last edited by Bill; 05-29-2008 at 01:15 PM.
|
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,611
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | He offered me gapi.com by pm. But I did some checks and it looked suspicious, so I contacted the previous owner, don daniels, and he confirmed that the domain was stolen.
__________________ Domain Magnate |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: DC Suburbs
Posts: 2,002
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Sorry to hear about the scam. Thanks for the heads up.
__________________ FREE Available Domain Lists FreshAvails.com. Check out our Sneak Peek Program. Go to DomainVictor.com for the best domains for sale on the Web!
Last edited by FreshAvails.com; 05-23-2008 at 09:26 AM.
|
| |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,889
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Sorry to hear about this dude. Thanks for the heads up. I wish I knew where to get copper sinks.
__________________ Dudster.com | Domain Names For Sale |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| Business Member Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Australia
Posts: 4,201
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I'm sorry to hear what happened to you It has flagged concerns for me. I was the highest bidder at the Auction here the other day PM him Could not accept paypal and insisted on Money bookers. Creating an account with them is an absolute nightmare. Guys in chat suggested I offer to pay with NP's Sent a PM He won't accept NP's only Money Bookers Zero Trader Rating gmail email Just checked whois Created On:20-May-2008 Wild West Domains Isn't there a 60 restriction for newly regs names I need advice urgently. I want to do the right thing but also don't want to be scammed
__________________ ☆ Occupy.TV website/domain name for sale! |
| |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: May 2004 Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 341
![]() | Sorry to hear about your loss.
__________________ 100% USA Sales & Support - http://www.handsonwebhosting.com/ PCI Compliant: E-Commerce Hosting - VPS - Dedicated Servers |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #16 (permalink) |
| Diggin' the Domains... ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,937
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | well, not all that glitters is gold.... and not all that goes bad ENDS bad..... through this all i came into contact with the actual owner of one of the names i 'thought' i bought.... took some time and determination on my part (was as much sheer principle to see something 'good' come out of this as anything) but FINALLY wound up buying one of the names for real! am VERY pleased, even though i had to buy it twice! so, although i still hope the fraudster is caught, on some silly level i am also grateful that they brought me in contact with a name i would have probably NEVER considered inquiring about, let alone an actual purchase (to be honest, probably wouldn't have happened outside of the context that it did...), and am really glad it turned into something good. will be looking for appraisals soon to see if i can recoup some loss! ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=469727 cheers, denver |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,073
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | This is a really frightening prospect. And from what OP said, he did take precautions Sorry this happened to you OP...and glad to see there was a bit of a silver. . So I wonder...I am new to Name Pros. How can I, as a new member (and others in my position), trade successfully here, without being viewed with suspicion? The only thing I can think to do, is point potential trading partners to my extensive 9 year eBay history of 100% (but then again, does an eBay "resume" really help here?)
__________________ █ SALE ! >> CashSolutions*net █ couponle*com >> Techeroo*com |
| |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| NameDato.com Join Date: Dec 2006 Location: Jackson's Whole
Posts: 3,296
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Start from small sales and purchases. Don't use free email account, don't protect whois of your names. Ask you eBay sellers/buyers from NamePros to put positive trading history here as well. Since you have eBay history I think you will not have problems here.
__________________ |
| |