| |||||||
| "Short" Domain Discussion Generally defined as easily resalable domains of 5 characters or less -- LLL, LLLL, L-L-L, 2c, 3c, acronyms, etc |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| www.LLLL.com Forum Moderator | WARNING: How to Avoid Domain Scams and Scammers Prevention: Google the domain (also try adding words like stolen, scammed, help, missing, etc), asking other domainers about the domain in question, checking the various marketplaces and making sure things add up... The biggest single indicator of a potential scam is the price. A scammer will want to price the domain low enough that it sells before he gets caught. Keep a watchful eye on new members. Recently modified whois is another warning sign. If other indicators are present (ex. extremely low price), proceed with extreme caution. Some known scams: 1. Appraisal Scam -- If they ask for an appraisal, it's probably a scam. 2. Snail mail scam letters -- Letters through the mail reminding you to renew your domains from companies which aren't your current registrar 3. Compromised web-based email accounts and keyloggers -- Using an email provided to you by your Internet Service Provider is generally safer than web-based email solutions. There have been known security flaws in certain webmail applications in the past (ex. Gmail) which made compromising member accounts considerably easier than guessing a password. Understand the risks involved with using a web-based solution. Download spyware software such as Adaware Lavasoft and scan your computer daily. Keyloggers are A) easy to put on someone's computer and B) potentially catastrophic to a web based business. 4. Unauthorizing funds (particularly bad with Paypal). Paypal makes it very easy to create chargebacks. Don't accept large amounts by Paypal unless you're dealing with people you absolutely trust. Moneybookers/Escow.com are a step above Paypal, however the best option would be to go with a true escrow service such as Sedo Escrow, Moniker Domain Escrow Service or EscrowDNS. 5. Emails saying your domain requires renew/transfer/you to take a certain action. Check the email and make sure that A) it's from your registrar and B) the url mentioned matches what your registrar's would be. Safer to just visit the registrar than click the links in the email. 6. Incorrect Whois emails -- if your whois isn't incorrect, beware. Phone your registrar if you think they made a mistake. 7. Traffic/Click Fraud -- Self explanatory. If it isn't direct navigation it shouldn't be sold as such. Due diligence is required here. 8. Hijacking -- If you use one of your own domain names as the nameserver, be sure to make sure it doesn't expire or someone could fraudulently gain control of your domains. 9. Escrow.com is NOT 100% safe. They do not cover stolen domains -- buyer beware. Don't think processing a "bargain" through Escrow.com won't potentially end in you being out money. In the event a domain is stolen from someone's account, the domain WILL be returned to the original owner and you'll be out whatever you paid for the domain. 10. One thing I should add: Most free webmail providers will delete accounts after certain periods of inactivity. A clever scammer could notice that your Hotmail/Yahoo/other webmail account had expired, register that same email address (which is now available) and then proceed to "Request Password" at various registrars using what was previously your email address. If you plan on using your webmail infrequently, it's recommend you verify what amount of inactivity is tolerable and won't result in email account deletion. Last edited by Reece; 10-03-2008 at 12:24 AM. |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) | |
| NamePros Fans™ | Quote:
Administrative Contact: nospam, kev kevdomain@yahoo.com
__________________ | |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) | |
| www.LLLL.com Forum Moderator | I posted this here (and paid for a sticky) because it seems like this guy is preying on Namepros members.. With how fast he's targetting them, having merely a post in the Warnings and Alerts section just won't get the word out soon enough... Anyone with more info on this guy, please let us know. As EG.Domains, the NPer who alerted me to this scammer told me -- it's very probable that large holders of LLLL.coms are at the very top of his list of people to scam. Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | thanks for the headsup! i actually received a bulk offer on my names from this person last night by email using the kevnospam account. i had an odd feeling, Declined his offer, and told him (since the text from my LLLL offers thread was pasted into the email) to please make future offers via pm or post OVER the forum, for both of our safety, as it includes a level of 'identity' and credibility. He made a second offer anyway via email which i declined. havent heard back since! thanks again for the info and i hope everyone gets their names back! sp
__________________ ---------------------> Snappy Domains! Last edited by SlimPickins; 01-29-2008 at 11:30 PM. |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | It always stinks how a few bad seeds ruin it for the rest of us! Thanks for the heads up Reece, Without your warning, Many would probably fall victim of this scam. The odds always are... & with so many attempts... Be on the lookout.
__________________ Domain Drop Catching Tools - Server & Desktop Based. Expron Solutions - Checkout the drop catching tools! |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | So he broke into someone's paypal account and purchased a name with someone elses money? And slimpickins can you post his email account so we can investigate. .................................................. ....................... Duh....I just saw that we have his email addresses. I'm sure he will get caught now.
__________________ |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) | |
| mellowmasher.com Forum Moderator | Quote:
__________________ Hot New NP Live Auctions! I RECOMMEND HIVE DESIGNS FOR HIGH QUALITY WEB DESIGNS ![]() Mellowmasher.com | |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) | |
| GenericDomainMarket.com | His Yahoo Messenger nickname : Crazy crazy His Yahoo Messenger photo ----- More info found by NPer Ronald Regging Quote:
__________________ Last edited by EG.domains; 01-29-2008 at 11:47 PM. | |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | Hmmm....word of advice. Last night someone posted an unbelievable offer for a great domain at a fantastic price here at Namepros. However, the ad said NO PM'S and he stated that you needed to send him and email. He then spelled out his email with the dot etc.. The person was a member since 2004 so I thought, it was a little strange, but, o.k. Being a dummy late at night (12:00 am in California) I opened up my email program and sent them a letter saying I'd take the name. However, now looking back I realize this person has my personal email addres. So exercise caution not only if someone contacts you through your email, but, when responding to great offers for domains with a message that they won't accept PM's and that you need to email them.
__________________ Last edited by 4ltrorg; 02-11-2008 at 12:22 AM. |
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) | |
| www.LLLL.com Forum Moderator | As long as you pay with Paypal, you're covered should the seller choose not to follow through. The burden is on the seller to provide proof that he "shipped" the item in question. I've never been a big fan of selling domains using Paypal tbh -- and I'm sure some of you have seen one of my many rants on here about it. I was the victim of a similar scam (nothing to do with LLLL.coms though) in December of 2006 and am surprised at how little Paypal did to investigate the situation or even give me the time of day to tell my side of the story... They're clearly focussed on being "Buyer Safe" rather than "Transaction Safe" like Escrow.com would be... I never do any transactions through Paypal with people who send emails to my whois listed email address. I'm very cautious about even doing Paypal transactions with newer Namepros members or members with little feedback. You can never be too safe... That $25 escrow fee is really worth the peace of mind... I do every transaction over $500 via escrow except when I have a good relationship with the buyer. Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member | Quote:
securekev Also had: securenkvd & kevnospam with 0 posts.
__________________ "You're on the road to success when you realize that failure is only a detour." ~Anonymous | |
| | |
| | #18 (permalink) | |
| NamePros Legend | Quote:
I've also posted this info on DP as well to warn them just incase. | |
| | |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| NamePros Legend | been indexed by google already and saw posted on http://www.fka200.com/2008/01/30/lll...loose-warning/ |
| | |
| | #20 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member | Quote:
__________________ † Did We Know That There Aren't Really Thousands Of Bands Who Might Be Interesting, We Will Get To Deleting All Bands That Aren't In Flames, Cannibal Corpse, Morbid Angel, Deicide † | |
| | |
| | #22 (permalink) |
| GenericDomainMarket.com | Some of his domains : Canadawallet.com Dieforcash.com Fep.name Masspayment.net Orderbulk.net Paybycent.com Paybymoney.com Paygp.com Paymass.com Pokergeneraltalk.com Sexismylife.net Pokerwish.net Uswallet.com Update.... I found his/her own forum : http://www.theonlinedeal.com After more and more evidences .. This Name: Marian, Dorobantu Address: bd tomis nr 68 City/State: Constanta, Constanta Zip code: 8700 Country: Romania Tel: 721328329
__________________ Last edited by EG.domains; 01-30-2008 at 03:53 AM. |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |