| | |||||||
| |||||||
| New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login | |
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | RJ's ULTIMATE SALES THREAD ... a NamePros Exclusive ... | Forum Sponsor |
| THE MOTHER OF ALL SALES THREADS! You won't believe the deals NamePros founder RJ is serving up on premium domain names, many never before listed for sale. Priced so cheap you can flip them for double! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Account Closed | I put a bid in snapnames lately on jeniferlopez.com in Snapnames. Look at this mail I got today... Is it true or someone trying to get this domain from other bidders in Snapnames: Mail: "We only notify people when contacted by a bona fide attorney or law firm. This notice is confidential to the bidders in this auction. Subject: SnapNames auction for jeniferlopez.com Dear SnapNames customer, The following notice is purely advisory; no action is required by you. An attorney representing Jennifer Lopez has contacted SnapNames regarding the auction for the name listed above. They inform us that their client claims rights to this name typo notwithstanding, and will seek to enforce the claimed rights. While such notice in and of itself is not at all indicative as to any rights in a name, potential buyers may want to take into account the fact that we received such notice. As such, if you wish me to make certain you do not end up as high bidder in this auction please let me know. Otherwise, you may ignore this email and no response is necessary. SnapNames has no opinion as to the merit of the claim, nor do we make such determinations. This is not legal advice; you may want to consult your attorney for an opinion regarding the domain name in question. It is your sole responsibility to investigate the risk of a potential trademark or related issue prior to registering a domain name. We offer this notice because we have had customers lose names acquired through us in disputes and we do not refund for this. If you have any questions or concerns you may contact me via email or at the cell number below. If you wish to be removed from the auction or to make sure you are not the winning bidder let me know. __________________________________________________ __ Nelson Brady, VP of Engineering and Customer Support 115 NW First Avenue, Suite 300 Portland, OR 97209 tel: 503-219-9990 x223 cell: 360-903-8844 fax: 503-274-9749 nelsonb@SnapNames.com www.SnapNames.com Secure your domain. " {End of mail} |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster ! | I would think it is genuine - how else would they know to contact you and that you have placed a bit on it ? I think it is snapnames way of getting out of any potential lawsuit for selling it. (trying to cover their ass) JMO . Last edited by gazzip; 03-18-2006 at 03:10 PM. |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | If the letter is true. Then it was good act on the part of Snapnames for infroming the bidders about such letter.
__________________ Professionally Designed VECTOR ICONS! |Search 1 gigabyte mails here! | Personal Blog | Soccer Blog | Manila Blog | Make Money Online | Blog Directory | Short URL- JQR.org - taking offers | Free Cebu City Photos |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| A Wealth of Knowledge | Interesting. Tell Jennifer Lopez I'm using her "name". Maybe she'll pay attention to me. ![]() On a more serious note - I find it interesting that SnapNames even bothered to send out the letter. Its hard to believe that she wouldn't go directly to them and get the domain name. ![]() -Steve |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | Sounds like it's a real letter. Obviously she wants her name. I think she is probably going to get it. One way or another.
__________________ !!!!! Click here to checkout StudentPermits.com at Sedo! !!!!! |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member |
This is a domain name which they have legal rights over, and Snapnames.com wont be covering their asses, if there was any real risk to THEM, then the auction would be cancelled and the domain left to drop. If you win this auction, a dispute may be brought against them, not snapnames.com. This is simply a change of hands, Snapnames.com is acting as a registrar in this instance and is under no responsibility over the domain at all other than the control of the change of hands from the current owner and the new auction winner.
__________________ :hi: | ||||
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | Uhh... did you miss this? "We only notify people when contacted by a bona fide attorney or law firm. This notice is confidential to the bidders in this auction."
__________________ Dathorn Internet Services - $13.95/mo = reseller acct w/ 4gb HD, 60gb BW, cpanel, WHM, SSH, unlimited domains Dissent |
| |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| Lock It Down! | she doesn't own the rights to her name what if someone else and i bet there is has the same name she going to sue them then you could get someone older then here with that name and sue her she can't take that name away imo
__________________ WhoisBot.com - Domain whois information at your fingertips! TravelGuyed.com - Tips and Reviews for when you travel! DatingPanel.net - What dating site is right for you? Affiliate Marketing Tutorials for FREE!!! |
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | yeah she is not the only jennifer lopez in the world.. maybe older jennifer lopez shud claim it..kekeke..jk
__________________ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ██████ ★ DOMAIN,MU ★ LNY,NET ★ BLOGGER,BIZ ★ DNMY,COM ★ IJJY,COM ★ FEJY,COM ★ ████ |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | I wouldn't touch that with a ten foot pole.
__________________ .::: e-nic.com :::.- semperfidelis.com - stow.org - shopbooks.com - and more.... |
| |
| | #20 (permalink) | ||||
| First Time Poster ! |
I think going by that email they are obviously aware that the name is getting sold - If the new owner attempts to make money off this domain in any way that is associated with Jennifer Lopez I think they will definelty be hearing from her lawyers. The fact that snapnames has emailed all those bidding for it would also help their case should they attempt to take the new owner to court. JMO of course . | ||||
| |
| | #21 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular |
__________________ Sons of Karma comedy YouTube Funny Vids: Random Krump Skit Backwards Running Handball Slaughter Movie Trailer Oh and xombie blog and nintendo and alcohol at get drinking . | ||||
| |
| | #24 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member | I think its funny they use "secure your domain" at the end of the letter... I own www.SecureYours.com going on 4 years, think i should send them a letter? ![]()
__________________ Info I post tomorrow it is protected by Copyright © and may not be used yesterday unless used today prior to this post. | ||||
| |