NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Asian Domain Name Scam reappearing

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2010, 09:12 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,516
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



Caution Asian Domain Name Scam reappearing


This scam is old but I don't see any receint threads about it, and the scammers are using a new domain I think, so I think it bears posting again. The scam is you get an email that someone is trying to register your "trademark" in an asian domain or keyword. The company is looking out your interests by letting you know you can still register them and protect your intellectual property. They are lying of course, and if you want to protect your domain in other TLDs these are the LAST people you want to use, unless you like paying EXCESSIVE prices for highly questionable services...!
Quote:
-----Original Message-----
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/678103-asian-domain-name-scam-reappearing.html
From: vita.xie [mailto:vita.xie@govym.hk.cn]
Sent: Sunday, September 19, 2010 9:39 PM
To: christian
Subject: Intellectual property rights-Regarding Nielsentech(TO CEO)
Importance: High

Dear CEO,

We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

On Sep. 20, 2010, we received a formal application from a company called "Deahmer international Co., LTD" who are applying to register "nielsentech" as domain name and internet keyword.

After our initial examination, we found that the keyword and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's keyword and trademark. We don't know whether you have any relation with them. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other purposes to buy these domain names. If they are your business partner or distributor in the asia, we will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure. Now we have not finished the registration of "Deahmer international Co., LTD" yet, in order to deal with this issue better. Please contact us by email as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
Vita.Xie

Sponsoring Registrar: Link net Service Company Limited
HongKong Office
Tel:+(00)852-9566 0489
Fax:+(00)852-3069 6940
Web: www. asia-gov.com
Address: 3A, Units 20/F, Far East Consortium Bldg., 121 Des Voeux Road, Central, Hong Kong

************************************************** ********************

This email and any attachments are strictly confidential and intended solely for the addressee. They may contain information which is covered by legal, professional or other privilege. If you are not the intended addressee, you must not copy the email or the attachments, or use them for any purpose or disclose their contents to any other person. To do so may be unlawful. If you have received this transmission in error, please notify the sender as soon as possible and delete the message and attachments from all places in you computer where they are stored.

************************************************** *******************

vita.xie
2010-09-20
I have attached a copy of the the "Application Form" they send you if you ask for it.
Last edited by nielsencl; 01-26-2012 at 09:52 PM.
nielsencl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:43 AM THREAD STARTER               #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,516
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



I requested information and got the low-key response:
Quote:
-----Original Message-----
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=678103
From: vita.xie [mailto:vita.xie@skdns.org]
Sent: Monday, September 20, 2010 1:10 AM
To: webmaster
Subject: Re: RE: Intellectual property rights-Regarding Nielsentech(TO CEO)
Importance: High

Dear Sir,

If you don't think their application will affect your company, you can give up, we will finish their registration. But If you think their registration will confuse your clients and harm your profits, we can send an application form to you and help you register these within dispute period. This is the only way to prevent domain name grab. Hope get your decision ASAP, so that we can handle the next step.

Best wishes,

--------------------------------------------------

vita.xie
2010-09-20

---------------------------------------------

发件人: webmaster
发送时间: 2010-09-20 12:14:07
收件人: vita.xie@skdns.org
抄送:
主题: RE: Intellectual property rights-Regarding Nielsentech(TO CEO)

Thank you for your message.

What should I do about this?

Thank you,
Christian
nielsencl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 11:26 PM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,516
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



link net service company limited


Well, this scammer has kindly offered to help me register my domain names and also an "Internet keyword" for the following low prices:
Code:
Domain name	Unit price/Year	Domain name	Unit price/Year
domainname.net	30.00 USD/Year	domainname.kr	90.00 USD/Year
domainname.asia	75.00 USD/Year	domainname.sg	90.00 USD/Year
domainname.eu	60.00 USD/Year	domainname.tw	75.00 USD/Year
domainname.jp	225.00 USD/Year		
Internet Keyword ( domainname)	150.00 USD/Year
Yeah, at least 2 to 3 times what the prices should be. And the "Internet keyword" is a complete scam - worthless...!
Last edited by nielsencl; 09-20-2010 at 11:40 PM. Reason: add title
nielsencl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scam alert


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger