NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion
Reload this Page agoga.com - am I missing something???

Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2006, 08:19 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
gingerbreadweb's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 173
gingerbreadweb is on a distinguished road
 



Question agoga.com - am I missing something???


Dunno if I'm just missing something here, but what exactly is the deal with agoga.com?

If you type in most domains with .cm on the end, you end up on a spammy search type page called agoga.com

This is strange, because if you type in something random like "www.gingerbreadfish.bum" you get a blank page, because it clearly doesn't exist. But if you type in "www.gingerbreadfish.cm" you end up on agoga.com

Curiously, on some domains like google.cm and microsoft.cm you get a slightly different page, but it also loads through agoga.com
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/240557-agoga-com-am-i-missing-something.html

I don't understand how agoga.com have done this! Is .cm a valid domain? And if so, how did they reserve them all, including google and microsoft?!
gingerbreadweb is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,283
scrsteven is a name known to allscrsteven is a name known to allscrsteven is a name known to allscrsteven is a name known to allscrsteven is a name known to allscrsteven is a name known to allscrsteven is a name known to allscrsteven is a name known to all
 



Yes .cm is a valid extension.
They set-up a catch-all for people typing in .cm..and put ads on every page...until they got in trouble for doing it and the isp's blocked .cm. So it may be your isp forwarding you on...
__________________
SKDomains.com
Distance Learning
scrsteven is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 09:43 AM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
gingerbreadweb's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 173
gingerbreadweb is on a distinguished road
 



Interesting stuff, so how did they do this catch-all thing for all the .cm domains? Are there other extensions that this has happened with? And surely companies like Google and Microsoft will be on their backs for using their names?!
gingerbreadweb is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Nitroshock's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 503
Nitroshock is a splendid one to beholdNitroshock is a splendid one to beholdNitroshock is a splendid one to beholdNitroshock is a splendid one to beholdNitroshock is a splendid one to beholdNitroshock is a splendid one to beholdNitroshock is a splendid one to beholdNitroshock is a splendid one to behold
 


Child Abuse Third World Education
I'm going to shoot in the dark here but it looks like typo redirection at the highest level.

.cm is the country code extension for Cameroon, a republic in Africa. So, say you had control of an entire ccTLD. One that is very, very close to the most popular extension, .com. There are sure to be lots and lots of typos of the .com extension, leave out the "o" and you have .cm.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=240557
What better way to capitalize on this than to redirect every non-existant domain to your own search page? It's highly possible using DNS servers if you have control of a ccTLD.

My guess is that the .cm extension is setup this way. If the domain doesn't exist, they want that traffic. So they take it. Simple as that.
As a test, I just tried to visit several random domains in the .cm extension. They didn't exist, but I still hit the agoga.com page instead of "Server not found" or similar error.

Again, I'm just guessing but that's what it looks like from here.

-Nitro
__________________
Bored? Play FREE Games
Nitroshock is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 09:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
ppx
NamePros Regular
 
ppx's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 376
ppx has a spectacular aura aboutppx has a spectacular aura about
 



Quote:
In August 2006, it was reported that the .cm registry had set up a wildcard DNS record, so that all unregistered domains in this top-level domain go to a parking page with paid search links. This was likely intended to take advantage of typographical errors by users attempting to reach .com web sites.
(Wikipedia)
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=240557

Cameroon registery probably deliberately has something to do with this.
ppx is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 10:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
First Time Poster !
 
gazzip's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GB
Posts: 6,881
gazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond reputegazzip has a reputation beyond repute
 



yeah thats a deliberate move, it was in the news a while ago, can't say I blame them better than a blank page IMO


.
gazzip is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger