NameSilo

Why has ICAAN removed Whois?

Located in Reviews started by MTB, Oct 9, 2019.

Replies:
7
Views:
949

  1. MTB

    MTB Established Member

    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    570
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. WatchDogue

    WatchDogue Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    15,418
    Glad you asked that question.

    Have been using their WHOIS for years and in the past month+ have been unable to load/access
    their " https://lookup.icann.org" page.

    Just tried again to get to that page now listed under their HELP section with no success and thought perhaps it was a browser ( mine ) issue.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  3. MTB

    MTB Established Member

    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    570
    Definitely changed in the past week. I can think of only three reasons:
    1. Low usage - ICANN doesn't think it's a useful service
    2. High usage - ICANN wants to save money on server fees
    3. Error - Tech accidentally removed the navigation link
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  4. Soofi

    Soofi Top Member PRO VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    7,563
    Likes Received:
    5,191
    under GDRP, ICANN will hide most of the relevant info from whois, so whats the point?
     
  5. Jurgen Wolf

    Jurgen Wolf Top Contributor VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    10,231
    Likes Received:
    8,348
    Forget ICANN and various 3rd parties...
    Check WHOIS at corresponding TLD Registry (root DB) and then at Registrar (local DB)...
    Or under Linux: whois example.tld
     
  6. xxxSxxx

    xxxSxxx Established Member

    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Its working perfect, from here .
    lookup.icann.org/lookup
     
  7. Ore

    Ore Account Suspended (Warnings)

    Posts:
    334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Because they CANN. :xf.grin:
    Why do you even rely on web-based whois, you can use "whois something.com" on almost any Linux distribution...

    upload_2019-10-24_21-36-41.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2019
  8. Storm

    Storm Established Member

    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    13
    In the case of Windows, a small whois utility can be downloaded from docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/whois. Read the instructions regarding the usage and the Windows versions needed before downloading.

    After downloading :
    1. Extract the compressed archive to a folder (e.g., to a directory in your system path, c:\windows\system32),
    2. Open Windows command prompt (cmd.exe),
    3. For a test, go ahead and type whois namepros.com then press Enter
    This should return the whois query result to the command prompt terminal.

    You can replace the domain name with an IP address or change the domain name extension as needed (you may need a specific whois server to query against).

    In case you find the output unpleasant to read, you may send the output to a text file providing a path if needed:

    whois namepros.com > namepros.txt
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!
  1. NamePros uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this site, you are agreeing to our privacy policy, terms, and use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...