Dynadot

advice What if some domains with trademark words registered?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

chris-flip

Established Member
Impact
Hi guys, I'm new in this domain field.

Recently I've registered some domains with trademark, initially I 'thought' it was a fabulous idea to register these domains and how could the BIG guys missed it. I mean, it's not a word contained in some strings, but actually the WORD itself, of course the extension might be some infamous ones like pw or site.

After searching for some infringement news, I now realize it's indeed a tragic action.

What should I do with these domain names? Let them expired? Wait for the BIG guys come and get me?

TQ for your advice.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
request a delete from the registrar

•••
yep, delete is wisest action

•••
Delete @ registrar.

As a newbie back in the 90's, I had three forced UDRP transfers. Lesson learned... I'll never forget those scars.

Not worth your rep to be holding TM names.

Focus on the long-term and you'll be fine. ;)

P.S. Welcome to domaining and to NP.

•••
Ok, well... will do that. Delete at registrars.

I thought I just owned the world, fantasizing myself becoming a zillionaire. Lol.

Thanks Eriq and everyone else for the kind advice. It's a good lesson though, nothing could have compared to your most valuable advice.
:xf.smile:

•••
It really depends on the name and what the trademark is. For example, I have arena (dot) football and when I searched the trademarks there are two for the words arena football. But if you review the two marks it's for merchandise only, certain types only.

My point being, without getting into a lot of detail, tons of the same words have trademarks therefore just don't interfere with the mark.

Of course i'm speaking of generic words and not a word like Google ect...

•••
Sigh... spent like over a hundred on them...