IT.COM

advice New To Domaining And Need Some Advice

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Oneir

Impact
Hello Everyone, I'm a total newbie to domaining, so please don't throw shoes just yet. :) I would love to get some input on my approach in these early stages. For the sake of full disclosure, I have experience with niche sites, and have keyword research knowledge. That said, in the 100's of domains I've analyzed being sold everywhere, there doesn't seem to be much focus on selling domains people (the average person) can actually rank for, and Im wondering why? Either there is zero to little organic vol, or competition is way too high. Attention seems to be more focused on things like word count, plays on words/phrases, and CPC (none of which matters if you can't rank), or estibot, which is fine, except for its algorithm is based on comps, not context. I do as much research as possible before committing to domain purchase. The goal, I would think, is to try to sell the buyer an asset they can actually develop, build from, and hopefully monetize. I guess Im wondering if my approach is flawed, and if Im going about it all wrong?

As a shot in the dark, I just put up my first domain today on flippa. Yes, Im aware its a .US. But again, there is reason for it explained in the description on the page. If anyone is interested, please check it out and let me know your thoughts. dentistoffice.us , and what I can do better.

Also, I'd like to get some input on ways people have marketed successfully. Whats the process? Of course flippa wants you to pay 60 bucks to get their "standard" push, and 250 or so for a big push. Is it a waste of money? What other free ways to market? Lastly, the Escrow is a little bit of a mystery as well. All registrars seem to require a 60 day hold on domains before they let them go. Any better solutions?

Thanks for any and all input.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.