NameSilo

Lost a hemp domain at the last second of an auction

Labeled as discuss in Niche Domain Discussion started by Keith, Feb 4, 2019.

Replies:
47
Views:
1,351

  1. Keith

    Keith Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    8,097
    Likes Received:
    7,419
    upload_2019-2-4_9-37-0.png
    The $1511 was my proxy kicking in, after the other bidder was able to bid with no time left.
     
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. wwwweb

    wwwweb Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    7,010
    If you used the app this is a common issue, in app lag. It has happend to me many times.
     
  3. ecomslice

    ecomslice Established Member

    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    642
    @Keith
    ya nothing will happen, happened to me on dnie and the dev team just says ita cache issue on your end, there still running a cookie cutter system, it drives me nuts and im currently in a pickle with afternic / GD listing issues. never ending trouble shooting

    Mine actually showed me as winning bidder with time running to zero, screen shot of me as winner, and they still say not their fault. not on app, on pc, wow eh
     
  4. ThatDomainGuy

    ThatDomainGuy Established Member

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    381
    deff a lag issue
     
  5. AbdulBasit.com

    AbdulBasit.com DomainsWeb.com AbdulBasit.com PRO VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    5,012
    This happens quite often with me. As far as I've understood, it's the difference between your bid and other person's bid which in your app takes time to refresh.
     
  6. ThatDomainGuy

    ThatDomainGuy Established Member

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    381
    this reminds me of high frequency trades. you have your order placed , goes threw the lag time of the servers and then just like that , you missed your exist. or entry
     
  7. AbdulBasit.com

    AbdulBasit.com DomainsWeb.com AbdulBasit.com PRO VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    5,012
    Never happened to me while bidding via GoDaddy Auctions website but this issue exists in their app only.
     
  8. Keith

    Keith Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    8,097
    Likes Received:
    7,419
    They’re choosing to run auctions via an app. Time went beyond zero and they accepted further bidding. It should be a closed case, although knowing them it won’t be @Joe Styler
     
  9. AbdulBasit.com

    AbdulBasit.com DomainsWeb.com AbdulBasit.com PRO VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    5,012
    The problem lies in the app and they should fix it for sure. But I don't think the next person who gave bid after you (when you saw it closed at your end) had it closed as well and still was allowed to bid. I wonder when this will be fixed.

    Every time a new update is out which says bug fixes and app crash fix, etc. But app keeps on crashing since last many months. They're too slow in fixing things up.
     
  10. ecomslice

    ecomslice Established Member

    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    642
    you guys catch that , ive literally seen the timer go to 0 , say im the winning bidder. but godaddy says it was running on my end, not theirs. lol. there the Cache King, making lots of Cache ,

    ill be jumping on some more BS with afternic/GD fun soon on threads if they dont figure it out. there good at trying. just need to rebuild the foundation.
     
  11. wwwweb

    wwwweb Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    7,010
    The person who bid after him, or bot probably played it down to the last few seconds where the app can lag. This is a common issue in many apps as it is a refresh, and lag issue, and probably can be programmed a bit better so it doesn’t say ended, but pending.
     
  12. wwwweb

    wwwweb Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    7,010
    Given the auction closed $1000 higher, looks like it really wasn’t over,’probably just made him more mad, and he bid more, who really wins in the end?

    I can’t remember the company but a few months ago there was an active bidder using a bot that waited until the last second to bid min bid only, making auctions last 3 hours on endings when a proxy was in place. I still miss the 2 min countdown.

    I know this feeling, and it usually always plays out in the same scenario, the auction ends up closing much higher, and you are not the winner, and it is all probably over a 3 second lag.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  13. ThatDomainGuy

    ThatDomainGuy Established Member

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    381
    im still a newb here in the Domain world , but...... i was pretty heavy into playing Apple Calls and Puts for years. I learned very quickly in those years , NEVER rely on the speed and process threw an APP of any kind.
    WHY would you risk an Entry or an Exist by placing your execution threw an APP ???????????? Just curious.
     
  14. wwwweb

    wwwweb Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    7,010
    Sometimes you are out, or tied up, and you can’t be on a pc, and the website portion is not very mobile friendly. The app has skyrocketed prices for sure, and delayed closing times with that last second tap.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  15. Keith

    Keith Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    8,097
    Likes Received:
    7,419
    The desktop auction timing is slower than the app. Now it comes down to which clock is official. It should be the clock that hits zero first imo.
     
  16. ThatDomainGuy

    ThatDomainGuy Established Member

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    381
    then your priorities are off as an investor !!!!!
    if your "out" ,,, when u should have been in. well. id say re- evaluate your priorities
    heck. even hyper fast servers miss ins and outs all day long on freaking super computers.
    sorry. no sympathy here
     
  17. Keith

    Keith Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    8,097
    Likes Received:
    7,419
    That’s a ridiculous thing to say.

    GoDaddy is offering a service. If their service is flawed, that’s not my fault, that’s theirs.
     
  18. ThatDomainGuy

    ThatDomainGuy Established Member

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    381
    No its Not !
     
  19. ThatDomainGuy

    ThatDomainGuy Established Member

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    381
    Keith sorry u lost.
    But what i said was fact and truth.
    Do you trade common stocks , Options , Pennies ?
    Its never going to be up to your liking, you play the game by their rules. not your own. And MISSING happens. Nano seconds.
    Domaining is so un regulated its a joke in a way.
    Im not trying to pour salt on the wound. Your trying to make actions by the second. its Delay.
    I would never in my life rely on an APP and my Cell to make any business acquisition
    Its like trying to argue with the people at Etrade , Scotts , etc
    this has been a topic of Trading for ever !!!
    Missing the ins and outs due to computers and servers. As an Options trader, these are just the real issues u face and deal with. No other way around it bub
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  20. Keith

    Keith Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    8,097
    Likes Received:
    7,419
    It’s not about the domain, I’ve got plenty of those. It’s about offering a service and duping people into thinking it’s reliable. If it doesn’t work then take it down. Otherwise, honor the platform.
     
  21. ThatDomainGuy

    ThatDomainGuy Established Member

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    381
    i totally get it. I know its not the domain u lost. and i agree 100% with u. the system has kinks in it. Maybe they should have some type protection orders ? A way to cover your self. Like a Stop Limit Order. More so a Limit Order.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  22. ecomslice

    ecomslice Established Member

    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    642
    I think there still catching up with shoveling coal into the Turbine , and fiddling with the abacus calculator
     
  23. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    3,332
    We don't accept bids after the auction ends. There can be various reasons why you see that, latency, bad connection to the Internet, session timeout, etc. If there was another bid then the auction didn't close. I know they are coming out with some updates to the app shortly that can help with messaging and time outs. Basically your phone isn't connecting to the server or the auction account correctly and it can't update the fact that you were outbid. I know it is frustrating and that they are working on making the messaging more clear but I am not sure what more they can do in cases like this. If your phone is not connecting correctly to the auctions servers for whatever technical reason then we can't send a message saying you are outbid because we can't get to your phone from our server. We have no motivation for stopping a bid from coming in, in fact it is quite the opposite but we don't control all the steps between us and the bidder's phone/computer.
     
  24. Keith

    Keith Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    8,097
    Likes Received:
    7,419
    If time running out on an auction isn’t an indication that it’s over, what is? In the 2-3 seconds that the screen changed to auction ended I could’ve shut my phone off thinking I won, and rightfully so.

    My first thought is to only add 60 or 90 seconds when last minute bids are placed. At least it would speed things along and cut out the games. The second thought is to not update screens to “auction ended” until the auction has truly ended. The service needs to work flawlessly across all platforms. This is real money we’re talking about and should be dealt with in a serious manner.
     
  25. wwwweb

    wwwweb Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    7,010
    Given the app, and all the automated bots that keep bidding these days, I wonder if Godaddy would go back a 2 minute format, or even 3 minutes, as 5 minutes is just a waste of life.
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!

Share This Page

  1. NamePros uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this site, you are agreeing to our privacy policy, terms, and use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...