Dynadot

question Look at other extensions?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

inahaze76

Established Member
Impact
I'm new to this and am only dealing with .com domains right now. When deciding whether to buy a. com, is it worthwhile to check and see if other extensions of that name have sold?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
no no no no

Simply put, “no!”

But my personal “other” favorites are:

dot NET dot ORG & dot US country of course!

All else is :poop: to me. Feels New exts’everyday.

.io .ai “hip” for “startups” who cant afford .com
Dont waste your money — You will be tempted

Even accounting 7% com hike each next 4 yrs, still lower price, than “.co” the wannabe .com.
.co is another popular “.com” alternative;

Not a fan of .co, due to bloated ~$20 renewal.
Which brings us to renewal fees.
Other ngtlds “premium” prices’ are the worst.
If anything, farce of “premium ren fee” should be enough, to deter them, from your business!

new exts advertise as “You’re the ‘future’ gen.”
The “future gen” that will never come imo. LOL

But great marketing! especially .xyz; may best.
I’ve a lot of conversations with @jmcc on xyz.

To answer your question, (if i wasnt clear)
NO!!! Dont register yet alone buy other ext;
Waste of money, what are you, Google?
Google registered every variation “Google” their .com —and i know ur asking on other ext - but every .com reg’d every “Google” variety up to like twenty “o’s” lol. Goooogle.com
See how many “o”’s you can go b4 unreg’d.

Same idea, essentially.
Dont “defensive register” unless re Google big, and that includes alternate com spellings — but Personally, if must, i’d stick with net org us — yes, despite “.io” & “.ai” feel all the rage tech

Samer

Last edited:
•••
no no no no

Simply put, “no!”

But my personal “other” favorites are/

dot NET dot ORG & dot US country of course!

Everything else is :poop: to me. New ext everyday