Dynadot

I need some help understanding the connection between faraway expiration dates and auction dates

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

MapleDonut

Established Member
Impact
I'm eying a single word .com on Flippa. I'm a little confused about some of the information so I'd like some help understanding it.

Particularly:
  1. Why is the domain is on auction for a reserve price of $1?
  2. Why is the auction set to end in less than a week when the domain doesn't expire for 4 months?
Is this normal? I'm fairly new to this but it seems quite odd to me.

I'd post a ss but I have no clue how to upload it from my computer on this forum. If someone could clarify that too, I'd appreciate it.

P.s. the person selling it is a verified seller on Flippa with a few thousand under their belt.

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
It's an auction? You can put your domains up for auction any time ......it has nothing to do with when the domain expires in this instance.

You might be getting confused with Godaddy expired auctions by the look of it...."GoDaddy Expired Domains enter an auction before they get returned to the registry".

People start with $1 no reserve hoping to generate early initial bids which then might drum up interest - if a domain has multiple bids the chances are more people will have a look to see what all the fuss is about.....It's a form of Social Proof.....

Last edited:
•••
It's an auction? You can put your domains up for auction any time ......it has nothing to do with when the domain expires in this instance.

You might be getting confused with Godaddy expired auctions by the look of it....

People start with $1 no reserve hoping to generate early initial bids which then might drum up interest - if a domain has multiple bids the chances are more people will have a look to see what all the fuss is about.....It's a form of Social Proof.....