If you have an eagle eye for domains and know what you are doing, you can apply this formula: Investment x 2.5 = profits (after investment/acquisition costs and sales commissions). Ex. investing $50K in Jan 2018, would generate $125,000 in profits at end of Dec 2018. Even Investment x 2 = profits is classed as an excellent ROI. If you invest $5K-$6K at the start of the year, you can probably expect to make around $20K in passive sales over the course of a year - if you're buying the right types of names that appeal to end buyers.