IT.COM

General Drop Catching question

NameSilo
Watch

dazzlenovak

Established Member
Impact
Hi and i am newbie here. I just want to clarify basic mechanics of drop domains catching. Here are we go:

I can choose from Pre Releases and Pending Delete domains

1. As i noticed here at the related thread there is better to start from Pre Releases domains. Do i understand correct, that Pre Releases domains these are those who:
  • already not belong to registrant and selling by Registrar for the last chance before they start to be "PendingDelete"? or;
  • still belong to someone (human) - new "person" who recently bought the domain? - if so, why the domain is already selling? And a "person" bought the domain before its deletion phase and even didn't pay to extend the domain for some years forward? Wtf? I confused about it sorry.
What are Pre Releases domains, simply put?

. So If i want a Pre Release domain - do i have to go to the Registrar auction or if they haven't it, just email them directly with my offer for the domain? I asking this because last time when i was trying to buy any Pre Releases domains, many of them expire only at the end of 2023 y. As you can see, i have a lot of confusion in understanding of how to get pre release domain correctly?

. It is worth noting that most of the Pre Releases domains from the daily list (5000) that I worked with are complete garbage. I understand that such domains are less valuable? If yes, why?

4. If it's easy enough to get a Pre Release domain - Imagine i have a domain that i want to buy and it's expire at 24.03.2023. This domain will definetely be the Pre Release domain soon or not? If yes, where and when i can buy it?

And i guess that there are many people with it gap in knowledge. I will be very grateful if anyone could help me understand this.