Dynadot

Dot TO

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

cocaseco

Top Member
Impact
So I may be the last one in the industry to know about these, but I don't see much discussion. There appears to be value and good names left. I recently registered ECOMMERCE.TO. The downside is the $50/year price tag with a 2 drink minimum.

TO is the domain for Tonga and their government wisely allow anyone to register under their ccTLD.

TO is a part of the English language with many words ending in to and it is also a common preposition. TO is also a common reference to the city of Toronto, the 4th largest city in North America.

On Flippa there is a history of some good .TO sales.

Yet you rarely see these being offered for resale. Is it just the high registration fee? Thoughts?

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I have some experience with .TO names.

I picked up a few a number of years ago and I have sold a few over the years since.
In my experience these names are very hard to sell and since they have a high renewal fee, it makes it hard to get a good ROI. Recently, I sold gold.to and loan.to for a combined total of $5400.00
As you know, these are super-premium keywords, so this is indicative of how difficult this market is.

I still feel you can do somewhat well in this TLD, but you must be careful because every mistake is costly.

You need to buy 2 years up front @ 50 /year so every investment is at least $100.00.

Although many Toronto sites are using .TO as their extension, it is still very hard to sell these names to Toronto businesses. Believe me, I've tried. With a city level name, it is hard to find enough of a market of buyers to ensure a sale. For example, I have been trying to sell Furniture.TO to a Toronto furniture store for years now, but I have had little interest from local retailers. The highest offer I've received and declined was about 500. Maybe I should have sold.