Dynadot

question Do active trademarks apply to expired domains

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Killstrike

Established Member
Impact
Hello, I am pretty new to domaining but anyways I was wondering about trademarks and how they apply to expired domains. I noticed a few interesting names I was thinking about buying but one of them I noticed had multiple companies that trademarked the name but for different use cases. I was curious if the domain registration originally dated back before the company's trademark and if they could UDRP the name.

Basically, the domain names I found were for a couple of companies that were acquired in a merger or that went out of business and I was not sure if it would be wise to even attempt to try and buy them.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I was curious if the domain registration originally dated back before the company's trademark and if they could UDRP the name.

First, nothing prevents someone from filing a UDRP, regardless of the circumstances.

The UDRP requires the complainant to prove three things...

1. Identity or similarity to their mark,

2. Lack of legitimate rights or interests by the registrant, and

3. The domain was registered and used in bad faith.

Now, on #1, the dates don't matter. #2 hinges on what, if anything, you are doing with the domain name. Leaving aside the question of use, the UDRP is now generally interpreted such that "registered in bad faith" implicitly requires the trademark (or significant pre-trademark publicity) to have existed prior to the time the current registrant acquired the domain name.

In other words, if you buy a domain name this week (absent buying some ongoing business along with the domain name), then nobody is going to care if the domain name was registered 20 years ago.