IT.COM

Data mining, analysis, algorithms

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

MarxsIn2017

Established Member
Impact
Hi All,

I'm new to the world of domain buying and selling.
I'm wondering if there are people or big organisations running the following setup:

Import data of past sales ->
Analyse this data for factors that contribute to value (length, how old the domain is, .com. .org etc)
Then come out with a weighting concept that lets us actually attribute a value to domains that are currently for sale.

From there the list of current domains for sale could be analysed and when sale price < value the program established -> hit buy?

Last step: Profit :)

TLDR: Basically I'm wondering if there are tools that value domains based on machine learning, past sales etc. and then recommend purchases or even auto purchase?

Result would be decreased profits, if the value of the domain is easy to establish and programs can purchase undervalued domains automatically then there would be no more profits to make, because all domains would be valued 'correctly'.

The problem that I can see is that the value is dependent on the intentions of the potential buyer and how much it is worth to him. This could still be traced back to length of domain etc. but it would be a variable that maybe more related to the size of the business and the budget of the buyer.

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
•••
Cheers, I image the one that comes closest to valuing the domain name for you would be estibot ? Did anybody try it and can say if they are accurate?

This link was a typo: DS .... would appreciate the correct link, thanks :)

•••