Dynadot

Anyone know what happened?

NameSilo
Watch

Greenn

Impact
Hi,

I’m a complete domain novice but long story short discovered a domain I’d like was going to expire. Not knowing anything better, I’ve just been counting down the days and watching Whois. So today it finally happened but instead of being up for grabs again, it is now suddenly newly registered with SnapNames. A load of googling later, I’m still trying to understand what this means. Has SnapNames bagged this domain because someone has back ordered through them and therefore already won it? Or have they bagged it so they can now sell it to openly? Is it even possible to know and what do I do now? Give up? Or keep checking SnapNames in case they put it up for sale?

Thanks - appreciate your time.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
It sounds like at least one person backordered the domain through Snapnames and/or Namejet (they work together). If there were multiple backorders it is probably now in an auction for a few days, and the winner of that auction will get it. If it is a domain investor, they will likely list it for sale soon. Watch the whois information to update, then visit the URL and search Sedo, Afternic, and Dan to see if it gets listed for sale there.

Good luck!

•••
Upvote 0
Almost all domains are being sold through auctions or immidiatelly registered by certain individuals, the moment they expire. So no, you just cant wait for it to expire. Companies have tools that do this, in a second. And its gone...

•••
Upvote 0
Thanks for you replies. Now I know! 🙈

•••
Upvote 0
The Whois information has changed to Dan.com. Am I right in suspecting someone has therefore bought the domain for sale rather than use and will probably now put a crazy price tag to it?

•••
Upvote 0
The Whois information has changed to Dan.com. Am I right in suspecting someone has therefore bought the domain for sale rather than use

That's very likely.