IT.COM

Yyy.com , hes.com , exw.com

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Hi, i am pretty new in this business and thought that there are a lot of good flips on 3 letter domain names. I took a look at Sedo's auction today
and have seen 3 domains at 3 different prices. I was just wondering, HES.com I might think is better then YYY.com but its $8000 cheaper, is that because YYY.com has the same 3 letters or has some other meaning? And EXW.com is only $3101 !!! IS it bad because of the X letter or something. Can anyone tell me if there is a certain guide to buy better names and what letters to choose. Thanks for your time.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Firstly, it can always be tricky to value domains (especially on a popular auction site on Sedo) since end users might be interested in the domain, thus pushing their prices higher than the reseller (domainer) prices we are used to.

But yeah, whilst HES.com is a great domain, I guess that some people might prefer YYY.com due to its rarity - i.e. there are 17,576 LLL.coms, but only 26 ones which have all the same letter (whilst there are 2,205 different CVC.com domains)

Personally I prefer HES.com (more brandable, looks better), but I can fully understand *why* YYY.com might be more valuable.

And regarding EXW.com - I haven't done any research on it, but on the face of it I'd imagine that it's only at $3k since it doesn't look that good (IMO), isn't as brandable as the other 2, is harder to remember, etc.

As for the guide - I'd suggest just browsing the sale forums and Sedo, asking questions (like you are now :)) and with experience you'll start to learn about domain values.

Last edited:
•••
Firstly, it can always be tricky to value domains (especially on a popular auction site on Sedo) since end users might be interested in the domain, thus pushing their prices higher than the reseller (domainer) prices we are used to.