NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Website Development Discussion Forums > Website Development
Reload this Page Virus found! or not?

Website Development Development concepts, scripts, sponsors and affiliate programs.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2005, 02:08 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
OK
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 460
OK is just really niceOK is just really niceOK is just really niceOK is just really nice
 



Virus found! or not?


Some people have found a virus on my site and I have no idea where it can be coming from. And this message is found by Symtec.

Scan type: Auto-Protect Scan
Event: Threat Found!
Threat: Adware.Istbar
File: D:\Documents and Settings\marciaa\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\BNLNJLCW\index[6].htm
Location: D:\Documents and Settings\marciaa\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\BNLNJLCW
Computer: MARCIAA-PC
User: SPIRAL\marciaa
Action taken: Pending Side Effects Analysis
Date found: Tuesday, December 13, 2005 10:34:15 AM

Link: www.betrollwin.com Click on some of the menu links too please. When the error (if any) pops up tell me the link and virus message.

I have no idea where this malicious program is found. I didn't put any activeX controls on. Can anyone please help me spot out this code or at least tell me teh page you find it on?
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/website-development/147831-virus-found-or-not.html

Thanks,
Oleg
__________________
Oleg
OK is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 756
aaronfalloon has a spectacular aura aboutaaronfalloon has a spectacular aura about
 



I don't think it is a virus, it probably is part of an affilite or advertising script you have installed.
aaronfalloon is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Troubled1's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 306
Troubled1 is on a distinguished road
 



istbar is a real pain for windows users. My guess is it's coming from one of your links. I can't pinpoint it for you though since I use linux and it doesn't affect me. Are you certain that it is coming from your site?
Troubled1 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 07:01 AM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
OK
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 460
OK is just really niceOK is just really niceOK is just really niceOK is just really nice
 



I am pretty sure that it is not coming from my site, but I also don't know what site it is coming from.
__________________
Oleg
OK is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
A Wealth of Knowledge
 
stscac's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,809
stscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud of
 



Analyze the problem.

1. What script (external) have you installed (if any) ?
If Yes: Is the script from a trusted source; Did you get that script directly from the trusted source?
If no, continue.
2. What other sites have you allowed/included active content in your site?

That just about covers it.

Best of luck.

-Steve
stscac is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Typo Generator kohashi For Sale / Advertising Board 14 08-15-2005 01:57 PM
New virus...W.O.R.K. Coastalguy The Break Room 4 07-31-2005 09:18 AM
i found this intresting.... (code red, apache virus) axilant The Break Room 5 03-16-2005 12:07 AM
WaRnInG: Virus Alert Update suthra Warnings & Alerts 6 11-01-2004 11:32 AM

Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger