[advanced search]
Results from the most recent live auction are here.
16 members in the live chat room. Join Chat!
Register Rules & FAQ NP$ Store Active Threads Mark Forums Read
Go Back   NamePros.Com > Design and Development > Web Design Discussion
User Name
Password

Old 06-22-2008, 03:18 AM   · #1
Dr_Test
New Member
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
NP$: 0.00 (Donate)
Dr_Test is an unknown quantity at this point
Crazy insane Yahoo Bot, or a site stalker?

(sorry for posting this here, but I'm getting an error when trying to post in the *proper* sub-forum, so I don't know what else to do... mods, feel free to move this)



Hello people. I've got a minor situation... 2 possibilities here:

1: It seems like the Yahoo Slurp bot has issues... serious ones, I think.

Take a look at this:



These are my site's top visitors (by bandwidth usage). The address that ends with 208 is me. All the others until you reach the one ending in 183 are the Yahoo Slurp bot (according to IP traces [here]).

The bot has gobbled up about 20 gigs of bandwidth in just the last 20 days. I don't get it. I have about 50 pages, a sleepy forum, and get about 5,000 visits per month... There really isn't much going on here.

________


2: I'm wondering if it isn't perhaps a sneaky site stalker using fake IP's. First, does this make sense to anyone? I'm not jumping to any conclusions yet.

If it is, there's a certain person that I used to be in contact with that I suspect (would make a lot of sense), but I haven't been able to tell for certain... IF this were the case, I would think they're using some program like UpdatePatrol or NeoDownloader (or both) to keep track of changed pages/dirs, and download whatever's new or modified.

The activity coming from these IP's has increased gradually in the past months... starting from around 2 gigs per month, and growing quickly in the past couple months to 8 gigs, 12 gigs, and now 20 (and counting, because this month isnt over)...

Any ideas? Is there any way to lure a visitor into a trap that bots can't use, that would prove that it's a human and not a bot?

Otherwise, if it IS a bot, what on Earth is Yahoo thinking? The MSN and Google bots don't use even NEAR this amount of bandwidth.

Btw, I just added a robots.txt to my site, to block the Yahoo bot entirely. I assume if this is a human, I'll figure it out next month, when Webalyzer starts showing a new month... and then I can see if the robots.txt hasn't driven away those IP's entirely.

My robots.txt says this:
Code:
User-Agent: Yahoo! Slurp Disallow: /


Please register or log-in into NamePros to hide ads

Last edited by Dr_Test : 06-22-2008 at 03:30 AM.
Dr_Test is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 12:44 AM   · #2
Dr_Test
New Member
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
NP$: 0.00 (Donate)
Dr_Test is an unknown quantity at this point
No takers?
Dr_Test is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

NamePros is a revenue sharing forum.

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Site Sponsors
Get Your Site Linked at LinkedKeywords.com Hunting Moon Grow your forum!
Advertise your business at NamePros
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0