| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
![]() | |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Ravaged By Age Join Date: Jun 2004 Location: PST + 8
Posts: 3,502
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | no scam... TM enforcement is bug to them... If you are showing bad faith i.e. pretending to be or trade off the back of their name, run to the hills.. If, on the other hand your regged is quite innocent, go here : http://www.chillingeffects.org/index.cgi And check your facts out
__________________ |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #4 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
![]() | Seems to be alot of links about suggesting it is a scam: http://www.bewareofebayscams.com/legal.txt If it is a scam, I dont see what the sender has to gain though?
__________________ www.3gpz.com | www.3gpz.co.uk www.rootkits.co.uk Wedding Traditions www.wristphonez.com | www.wristphonez.co.uk |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: United States
Posts: 2,317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ LIMITED TIME OFFER FOR 3 LUCKY NP'RS ONLY! Mobile website (6 pages) for your business! Reduced heavily to $99 (Reg. $397!) for testimonials! PM Me. | ||||
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | why would someone do that? Its unlikly to be a scam....
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #7 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
![]() | They've asked me to confirm in writing that I agree. Thats all.
__________________ www.3gpz.com | www.3gpz.co.uk www.rootkits.co.uk Wedding Traditions www.wristphonez.com | www.wristphonez.co.uk |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I doubt very much that it is a hoax....
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #9 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
![]() | Just in case it isnt a scam I have replied to the email and remove the name servers associated with this domain. I will let you know what happens next. Cheers for all your replies.
__________________ www.3gpz.com | www.3gpz.co.uk www.rootkits.co.uk Wedding Traditions www.wristphonez.com | www.wristphonez.co.uk |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,370
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I received a similiar letter a few weeks ago from ebay regarding my domain - boycottpaypal.info, I think it is legit.
__________________ www.canonlens.ws Updated daily - Get Canon lens reviews and good deals on new/used Canon lens from CanonLens.ws![/SIZE] |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,438
![]() ![]() | Be careful Always check the link by mousing over it. If the domain is not ebay.com then it is fake. Subdomains do not count. Many of these crooks wil take a domain like XXXXX.com and add subdomains to make it look legit like signin.ebay.XXXXX.com. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #12 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
![]() | jj2ii3344 - did you respond to their email and disable the website? Theres only 2 links on the email and theyre both valid links. No unicode, No hidden links, no @ in the url etc.
__________________ www.3gpz.com | www.3gpz.co.uk www.rootkits.co.uk Wedding Traditions www.wristphonez.com | www.wristphonez.co.uk
Last edited by allnew2me; 04-18-2005 at 03:30 PM.
|
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: North Carolina
Posts: 330
![]() ![]() ![]() | It is more than likely for real. When I first started I registered myebaytip.com, I did not know about trademarks, and a few weeks later I got an e-mail from Ebay. They told me not to use the name just to let it expire. They keep an eye on domains being registered with ebay and paypal in the name. |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: United States
Posts: 2,317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
It's best to just completely avoid registering names that contain trademarks of large companies, as it's just asking for trouble. Most individuals register names and think along the lines of, "I can sell to the company for millions". But they don't realize that the company doesn't have to buy the name, all they have to do is legally pursue the case and most times they will be forced to hand over the name. These large companies such as eBay have millions and millions to pay for lawyers, they can afford the very best and clean you for everything. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/83514-message-from-ebay-is-it-scam.html Please do keep us informed.
__________________ LIMITED TIME OFFER FOR 3 LUCKY NP'RS ONLY! Mobile website (6 pages) for your business! Reduced heavily to $99 (Reg. $397!) for testimonials! PM Me. | ||||
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #15 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
![]() | It was legit. I replied to the email confirming that I would do what they asked and they sent me a reply back thanking me for my cooperation. A valuable lesson has been learnt.
__________________ www.3gpz.com | www.3gpz.co.uk www.rootkits.co.uk Wedding Traditions www.wristphonez.com | www.wristphonez.co.uk |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| ebay scam email! | wisconsin | Warnings & Alerts | 7 | 03-31-2005 01:45 PM |
| Received (yet) a new type of eBay scam mail... | Redleg | Warnings & Alerts | 1 | 03-15-2005 12:27 AM |
| new ebay scam *beware* | Crusader | Warnings & Alerts | 12 | 10-14-2004 03:09 AM |
| eBay Buys 25 Percent Stake in San Francisco-Based Web Site Craigslist | Mark | Industry News | 0 | 08-16-2004 03:07 PM |
| Possible Scam on eBay! | Chrisrockandroll | Warnings & Alerts | 15 | 01-23-2004 03:53 PM |