| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 206
![]() | |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Ravaged By Age Join Date: Jun 2004 Location: PST + 8
Posts: 3,502
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Good luck, not sure the 'world' is too interested in how some domain speculators got fleeced out of $30 for an appraisal by a bunch of russian scam artists who probably make only a few hundred bucks a month... but good luck, nonetheless... This is small time, ive got most of their ip addresses if your interested but really, there are bigger and more important fights in which to fight if you have the time.... Dont mean too poo poo your plan but, as the mods here will concur, these guys arent rocket scientists and finding them is sooooo easy.. doing something about it is a different matter... They are moskovites Fact, fast domain sales are a scam.... its a russian scam... ip's available on request.. Delving too deep will open you up to a potential counterattack you dont really want Go easy bro and good luck in your endeavours
__________________ |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #3 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 206
![]() | Thanks, The IP infos will be of great use - $30 is the minimum victims can loose, usually its around $30-$70 per domain name. The fact that this issue can be regarded as "trivial" is what lets the scammers get away, my philosophy is that no matter how large or small the sin - It's still a sin (in this case, a scam). In regards to your "bigger battles to fight" comment, I agree - But we all gotta start someone where bro - This is a good starting point nevertheless - Thanks for your good wishings ... I urge everyone to help as much as possible. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 206
![]() | Forward them all to removed - Thanks. If you can also add a small testimonial (about how you feel, what should be done, what you want) which I will place on the investigation section of the new site (when launched) that would be appreciated! |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,747
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Good luck Zain Jaffer.. IF you need ANY support at all,ask me and ill see what I can do
__________________ WowHumor.net - Funny World of Warcraft Pictures |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Soon to be RICHdoggie! Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: UK
Posts: 2,408
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | i don't have a clue what is going on here... I have never heard of anything like this but I just want to wish you the best of luck with it, and hope (for want of a better phrase) "justice is served". ![]() Good Luck |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | At the moment, what we really need is testemonials from people who have been scammed. The problem is that the scammer is only suggesting the sites and therefore it looks fairly legal, which, is why we need as many testemonials as possible saying that he never intended to buy the domains.
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Man from Manila Join Date: Jul 2003 Location: The Net
Posts: 6,025
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Not just those who were scammed. You also want to compile as many as possible instances of similar email received from him, even if the email recipient did not respond. This will help show a pattern of fraudulent behavior over time. Also, very useful would be email exchanges made with the scammer, such as you offering the domain for $50 or less. Since the fastdomains appraisal costs $50, he can't expect you to shell out $50 for an appraisal, when all you want is $50, right? Of course, after you make this low offer to sell, odds are good that you won't hear from him again.
__________________ |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Hi Armstrong, good points there. If you have made contact with the scammer we need to have copys of the emails so that we can see that he never intended to buy domains but just force people into buying appraisals. Also, if anybody here would like to help in the process of building the ICCIA website please contact me. Colin
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| Account Closed Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: England
Posts: 1,169
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | when i get emails like that, or emails such as my huband passed away and i need the money transerring blah blah, i reply to them, being all nice, becoming more interested in it, after a few emails pass, they get an email, and in the email is being nice again, with a link to a page with all abusive stuff on, calling them stuff, each scammer gets it personalised lol, they dont bother me, as i know i wont fall for them, but theres always a naivve person that will |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #14 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 206
![]() | The site has just had a make over - http://www.iccia.org |
| |
| | #15 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: New York City
Posts: 1,696
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,747
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | lol heres an image on your site ![]() haha
__________________ WowHumor.net - Funny World of Warcraft Pictures |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | we are close to finding the scammers, we will be contacting their ISP tommorow, after that their information will be forwarded to the relevant authorities. In regards to the site, we had a look at some other official websites such as FBI etc, and we thought that would do something which actually looks good.
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | #22 (permalink) | ||||
| Man from Manila Join Date: Jul 2003 Location: The Net
Posts: 6,025
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=77782 - JohnScam works for FastHouseSales, or gets a share of their profits. - JohnScam then randomly visits houses for sale, pretending to be very interested, but insists that he needs a professional appraisal from a trusted source. He names GreatHomes, AllForHouses and FastHouseSales as his trusted sources. - GreatHomes is not in the business of appraisals, but only sells homes. AllForHouses is expensive at $500. FastHousesales costs only $250. So who do you think his prospects will go for? At $250, its not a large amount, considering that JohnScam says that he's thinking of paying your asking price of $250,000. Scam and fraud through and through, and 100% illegal.
__________________ | ||||
| |
| | #24 (permalink) | ||||
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith | ||||
| |
| | #25 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,568
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Who have you contacted that is going to follow up on this I doubt the FBI will they have much bigger things on their Plate at least I hope so, I hate these guys don't get me wrong but at the end of the day I don't even know if this is illegal, its dirty but to ask you to get an appraisal you can always say no this is very difficult I have gotten these emails in the past they are idiots but I would also think they monitor forums probably should discuss this on your website so they can't see. Good Luck |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Appraisal Scam Alive And Well! | shendia | Warnings & Alerts | 34 | 09-03-2004 10:50 PM |
| warning for newbies: livsnyter.com appraisal scam | armstrong | Warnings & Alerts | 25 | 04-28-2004 04:10 AM |
| 73 hosting and domain names $13-$200 ea. | seodomainsforsalecom | Domains For Sale - Fixed Price | 2 | 03-20-2004 05:42 PM |
| 29 auction domains for sale | seodomainsforsalecom | Domains For Sale - Auctions | 0 | 03-17-2004 06:29 PM |