NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Namejet Scam??

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
10 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2012, 06:43 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
MarthaB is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Caution Namejet Scam??


Hello,
I've just joined your forum because yesterday I had an e-mail (originally from Network Solutions), saying their partner, Namejet, was offering me a chance to bid on a domain name that was soon to be available. I became suspicicious when they asked for credit card information up front, so looked around the internet and found some discussion of their practices on this website. So, I found the website whose domain they said would soon be available and e-mailed them to ask if that was true, and received an e-mail reply from them today saying that their domain name was not due to expire, nor were they planning to let it expire. The exact wording of the e-mail from Network Solutions was "the (domain name) is expiring soon and may be available..."
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/742660-namejet-scam.html
Wow- this seems like straight up fraud to me. Could you recommend my best course of action in terms of reporting them to someone? Is there a recommendation that you have? Thanks so much!
MarthaB.
MarthaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Jawed's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: TradeDirectory.com
Posts: 2,134
Jawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond reputeJawed has a reputation beyond repute
 



Child Abuse Marrow Donor Program Protect Our Planet Cancer AIDS/HIV Cystic Fibrosis Protect Our Planet Multiple Sclerosis Multiple Sclerosis Baby Health Save a Life Protect Our Planet
Namejet is not such a company that will steal money from your credit card.

There are some issues with all the drop catchers but not the kind of the fraud your post is suggesting. Have you checked whois information and the expiry date for the domain name?

It is possible that some fraudulent people are using the email address of Namejet. I receive emails from such banks asking me to update my details, where I don't have any account.
__________________
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
stub's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,318
stub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatness
 



If there are any links in the email, study them very carefully, they could be fake, meaning this is a scam. But I don't think either NetSol or NameJet are in the business of scamming anybody. So I'd guess any link in the email is not going to NetSol or NameJet. Also, I've never heard of NetSol acting like this, so I'm fairly sure you will find the links are (good) fakes.
stub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ariyas.com
Posts: 1,394
silentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to behold
 




There are some questionable business practices but they don't take money out of your account up front. They'll only take money when you order a name and win it. Snapnames.com also asks you for your credit card information up front as well.

1. Don't click on any links. Type in the url and go directly to the site: namejet.com
2. Namejet.com recently made changes regarding the credit card information. You'll have to have a valid credit card on file to put names on backorder. If the card is declined or invalid then it won't let you place bids.
silentg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 11:51 AM THREAD STARTER               #5 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
MarthaB is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Thanks so much to all + a question


Wow, thanks to all of you for quick, knowledgeable replies- extremely helpful.
One question @Jawed, at the risk of revealing myself to be not very knowledgeable, can you please tell me how I would check the "who is" information and how to check expiry date for the domain name? Really appreciate the help I'm getting on this forum..
Martha
MarthaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fraud, namejet, scam


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Namejet Scam? ddzc Domain Name Discussion 5 11-05-2011 12:27 AM
Namejet scam lol zaco Domain Name Discussion 4 10-17-2011 08:52 PM
Namejet pre-release domain - shoud I? zaco Domain Name Discussion 1 10-16-2011 05:16 PM
New Rules Proposed for Expired Domain Names Dave Zan Domain Name Discussion 47 03-03-2011 06:29 AM

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger