NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page SCAM WARNING - read this thread for info.

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2011, 11:49 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: England
Posts: 12
JoshHardman is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Caution SCAM WARNING - read this thread for info.


I would like to inform all namepros users of a scam that targets us...

I received an email from someone called Louis Villano that read :

Hello,

We are interested in your domain name for sale.

Please email us your desired price in USD or euros for the domain name in the subject line.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/716836-scam-warning-read-this-thread-info.html

If you have other names for sale please email us yiur full list with prices for consideration.

Looking forward to doing business with you.

Regards,

Louis Villano

CEO

Web Domains & Hosting LLC


I responded with my domain names and their prices, and he instantly urged me to get domain appraisals for them. I googled his name and email (ceo @ your-domain -hosting.com) and discovered this is a common scam. He want's people to buy expensive domain appraisals from his scam-sites, then never replies after that.

So, if any of you receive emails from any of these :
Louis villano
ceo @ your-domain -hosting.com
Web Domains & Hosting LLC

you know it is a scam.


I hope I have helped the NamePros community by posting this.
Please don't lose your hard earned money to losers like this!

Thanks for your time, Josh.

EDITS

Some other names this email is sent under :

email addresses that end in
@name-business.com
@name-investors.com
@your-domain-hosting.com
Last edited by mis_chiff; 05-30-2011 at 12:51 PM. Reason: Post them here
JoshHardman is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
renek's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 499
renek is a jewel in the roughrenek is a jewel in the roughrenek is a jewel in the rough
 



They just keep trying..
__________________
Pm me for a PR3 link priced at $5 per year
www.a--g.com
renek is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:55 AM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: England
Posts: 12
JoshHardman is an unknown quantity at this point
 



@renek

I know, it's just awful. Please make other NamePros users aware of this thread to stop them being scammed. If everyone knows about it, the scammer will have no targets.

Thanks, Josh
JoshHardman is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 1,810
Debt.tv is a splendid one to beholdDebt.tv is a splendid one to beholdDebt.tv is a splendid one to beholdDebt.tv is a splendid one to beholdDebt.tv is a splendid one to beholdDebt.tv is a splendid one to beholdDebt.tv is a splendid one to beholdDebt.tv is a splendid one to behold
 




The scammer will always use a different name....
__________________
Domains for Sale
CompareTV.com | MyOnlineBiz.com | BeautifulBabyContest.com | 5050RaffleTickets.com | My-Mortgage.com | ChicagoSuburbs.org | Pop-up-blocker.com | MyMortgagePayment.com | VirginiaBeachRentalCars.com | BookingByOwner.com | SBKC.com | IUYS.com |
Debt.tv is online now  
Old 05-30-2011, 12:20 PM THREAD STARTER               #5 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: England
Posts: 12
JoshHardman is an unknown quantity at this point
 



@debt.tv

Yeah, I figured this. I have seen this scam under hundreds of different names, but the wording of the email is almost identical every time.

Basically, if they demand an appraisal it probably isn't quite right.

---------- Post added at 08:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:10 PM ----------

Some other names this email is sent under :

email addresses that end in
@name-business.com
@name-investors.com
@your-domain-hosting.com
JoshHardman is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
hostthebest's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: N.J.
Posts: 109
hostthebest is an unknown quantity at this point
 



same with me I be see that als
__________________
Host The Best - sales (at) hostthebest.com
Brandable Hosting Software | WHMCS Addons / Modules
hostthebest is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 9
VirtualShannon is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Glad this was here. Same email different name! Thanks!
VirtualShannon is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Supporter
 
bulkdomainz's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 432
bulkdomainz is a name known to allbulkdomainz is a name known to allbulkdomainz is a name known to allbulkdomainz is a name known to allbulkdomainz is a name known to allbulkdomainz is a name known to all
 



These scammers know there will always be someone who does not know it is a scam! That's why they'll never stop!
__________________
RESELLER PRICING at DOMAINSHOSTINGDESIGN.COM - PM your Account No before any purchase*Click here to see my domains for sale ******PM offers for: Facelift.tv NTA.tv MBI.tv GP.RS UnlockMobil.es CURRENCY.ws Projection.tv Funf.tv Camcorde.rs Jingle.tv CandidApps.com Sinfonietta.tv SUBSCRIBER.TV CH10.TV
bulkdomainz is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 03:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
infmoney's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Miami,Florida
Posts: 258
infmoney is a jewel in the roughinfmoney is a jewel in the roughinfmoney is a jewel in the rough
 



just got one today with the same exact words just a different name.
infmoney is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 12:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Dean's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,713
Dean has much to be proud ofDean has much to be proud ofDean has much to be proud ofDean has much to be proud ofDean has much to be proud ofDean has much to be proud ofDean has much to be proud ofDean has much to be proud ofDean has much to be proud of
 


Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009 Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009
Got it today, and realised its a scam because I have received a similar email a few years ago. This scam has been going on a while.
Dean is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
caution, scam, warning


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/716836-scam-warning-read-this-thread-info.html
Posted By For Type Date
TheNamePros.com New Domain Name Scam This thread Refback 07-18-2011 06:39 AM
Merwürdige Angebote von ceo@your-domain-hosting.com This thread Refback 07-02-2011 07:06 AM
TheNamePros.com New Domain Name Scam This thread Refback 06-01-2011 08:42 AM
Warnings & Alerts on NamePros - Buy, Sell, Discuss Domain Names | BoardReader This thread Refback 05-30-2011 05:44 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP and FTP Barrucadu Programming 3 10-21-2005 10:48 AM

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger