NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Fake GoDaddy ICANN E-mails being sent out - They're using Godnaddy.com domain

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2011, 10:23 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ariyas.com
Posts: 1,394
silentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to behold
 




Important! Fake GoDaddy ICANN E-mails being sent out - They're using Godnaddy.com domain


These guys are using Godnaddy.com domain this time. Registered at Yahoo Domains just like the last time.

Quote:
****************************** ***********
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/715199-fake-godaddy-icann-e-mails-being.html
Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)
****************************** ***********

Dear User,

it is that time of year again. ICANN(the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) annually requires that all accredited registrars (like GoDaddy.com) ask their domain administrators/registrants to review domain name contact data, and make any changes necessary to ensure accuracy. According to our records you are the ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT for one or more domains registered at GoDaddy.com, Inc. as of Jan 1st, 2011.

To review/update your Account data, simply:
+ Login to (link removed)
+ You will be taken to a landing page and asked to enter your account information
Please take a look that your account and domain information is up to date.

If, however, your domain contact information is inaccurate, you must correct it. (Under ICANN rules and the terms of your registration agreement, providing false contact information can be grounds for domain name cancellation.) To review the ICANN policy, visit:http://www.icann.org/ whois/wdrp-registrant-faq.htm

Should you have any questions, please email us at support@godaddy.com or call our customer support line at (480) 505-8877.

Thanks for your attention and thank you for being a GoDaddy.com, Inc. customer.

Sincerely,
GoDaddy.com, Inc. Domain Support


If you are the domain administrator of more than one GoDaddy.com domain account, you may receive this notice multiple times.
------------------------------ ------------------------------ ------------------------------ ---
Copyright (c) 2008 GoDaddy.com, Inc. All rights reserved.
Here's a link to report abuse / fraud to Yahoo Domains:
http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/sma...ess/abuse.html
Last edited by silentg; 05-17-2011 at 11:09 AM.
silentg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
cmason's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,276
cmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond reputecmason has a reputation beyond repute
 



Special Olympics Parkinson's Disease
Got this just a few minutes ago. Funny enough, I got a legitimate one from GoDaddy sometime last week, but did not even consider clicking on any links.
cmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 11:13 AM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ariyas.com
Posts: 1,394
silentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to behold
 




Got the host to suspend the hosting for that domain. Now waiting for Yahoo to take action as well.
silentg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mosilager's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,108
mosilager is a glorious beacon of lightmosilager is a glorious beacon of lightmosilager is a glorious beacon of lightmosilager is a glorious beacon of lightmosilager is a glorious beacon of light
 



Thanks for that, I reported them to GD as well, but you beat me to the punch!.

Originally Posted by silentg View Post
Got the host to suspend the hosting for that domain. Now waiting for Yahoo to take action as well.
__________________
Looking For Offers:
akl.net/aej.net

How To Kill
mosilager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 346
FragrantDomains is a name known to allFragrantDomains is a name known to allFragrantDomains is a name known to allFragrantDomains is a name known to allFragrantDomains is a name known to allFragrantDomains is a name known to all
 



I just got one today. They changed to Goddnaddy (They added another "d").

Return-path: <omidcom@server1.graphicsrq.com>
Received: from server1.graphicsrq.com ([unknown] [67.23.250.52])

Just reported it to godaddy.
FragrantDomains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 03:43 PM THREAD STARTER               #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ariyas.com
Posts: 1,394
silentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to beholdsilentg is a splendid one to behold
 




I didn't get anything yet. I have reported it to Yahoo Domains as well. And also reported the domain to the host. Hopefully they take action fast as last time. This is the third time they're using Yahoo Domains.
Last edited by silentg; 05-20-2011 at 03:47 PM.
silentg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeMortgageQuotes, VideodoorPhones and Other Domain Names DNBro Domains For Sale - Fixed Price 1 05-23-2011 08:41 AM
AccountExecutive.co.uk USFlag.co.uk TigerHedgeFund.com and much more TrueGift Domains For Sale - Fixed Price 20 05-15-2011 08:35 PM
102 domains > $50 for the lot > 24 hours > gainers.info dreamed.info curriculums.info refide46 Domains For Sale - Auctions 2 05-10-2011 08:35 PM

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger