NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page I think I'm getting scammed

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2011, 12:09 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 23
Audified is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I think I'm getting scammed


I just received this email after having my domain up on Sedo for only a week.


tom- lieberman @name-deals.com to me
show details 10:04 AM (3 hours ago)
Hello,

We are interested in your domain name for sale.

Please email us your desired price in USD or euros for the domain name in the subject line.

If you have other names for sale please email us yiur full list with prices for consideration.

Looking forward to doing business with you.

Regards,

Thomas Lieberman

President

Web Hosting & Domains LLC

tom- lieberman @name-deals.com
================================================== ======
NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/713606-i-think-im-getting-scammed.html
unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
and deleting it from your computer.
================================================== ======
Last edited by mis_chiff; 05-04-2011 at 12:59 PM. Reason: no free advertising
Audified is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,621
Bannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatness
 


Animal Cruelty Child Abuse Cancer
Looks like the common template used by appraisal scams. IMO
__________________
BANNEN'S Best Available Dot.Com's List!
Bannen is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
GoQuickly's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 302
GoQuickly is just really niceGoQuickly is just really niceGoQuickly is just really niceGoQuickly is just really nice
 



They don't even have a website at name-deals.com

If they were anything professional they would have a site.
__________________

Trial web hosting >> Free 7 days of Hosting << Cheap hosting renewals!
Auto Title Loans Phoenix - Ohio Masonry - Custom Choppers

GoQuickly is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 12:54 PM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 23
Audified is an unknown quantity at this point
 



That is what I figured. When I typed name-deals.com it re directed me to a web hosting company.
Audified is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 12:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Account Suspended
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 61
hamchi is an unknown quantity at this point
 



yup its a scam, ig ot the same mail.
hamchi is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 01:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
indowebber's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fishin Screen!
Posts: 958
indowebber has much to be proud ofindowebber has much to be proud ofindowebber has much to be proud ofindowebber has much to be proud ofindowebber has much to be proud ofindowebber has much to be proud ofindowebber has much to be proud ofindowebber has much to be proud of
 




Originally Posted by Bannen View Post
Looks like the common template used by appraisal scams. IMO
agreed..
__________________
Cheap SEO Article Services <-- Great Deals on Opening, try it now!
indowebber is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 01:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
goof free!
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,364
mis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatness
 


Member of the Month
November 2007
Save a Life VA Tech Memorial Breast Cancer Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet
Moved this thread to Warnings and alerts.

Looks like there are a few of these type scams going on so might
be a good read for you.

mis_chiff is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Business Member
 
iowadawg's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Not in Texas
Posts: 2,409
iowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond reputeiowadawg has a reputation beyond repute
 




Now how can my grandson make any money if you all keep posting his scam?
LOL
iowadawg is online now  
Old 05-04-2011, 08:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Born again domainer ;P
 
gemstar's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,736
gemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond reputegemstar has a reputation beyond repute
 




These emails are second to the Nigerian emails one receives. They send you a email exciting you to an interested prospect domain they are interested in, they send you to a domain to appraise it before they buy. Then ..I'm sorry it's not what we wanted. They know now domainers are waiting for a bite
gemstar is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 05:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
renek's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 499
renek is a jewel in the roughrenek is a jewel in the roughrenek is a jewel in the rough
 



From a legal perspective all they do is spam, I guess the risk for these spammers is quite low.
__________________
Pm me for a PR3 link priced at $5 per year
www.a--g.com
renek is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 12:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
SmokinJoe24's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Home of the King
Posts: 295
SmokinJoe24 is a splendid one to beholdSmokinJoe24 is a splendid one to beholdSmokinJoe24 is a splendid one to beholdSmokinJoe24 is a splendid one to beholdSmokinJoe24 is a splendid one to beholdSmokinJoe24 is a splendid one to beholdSmokinJoe24 is a splendid one to behold
 




I got an email from the same guy. Gave him just a little piece of my mind.
SmokinJoe24 is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 02:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Iconik is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Just got the email from Thomas Lieberman.

Here’s what I sent back.

—————————-
Hi Thomas,

The domain APRLoan[.]net is for sale for $1 dollar.

I prefer to use Escrow.com with buyer paying escrow fees.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=713606

Looking forward to doing business with you.

Mike
Domaiins.com

===========================================
NOTICE – This email does not constitute an agreement to sell the domain
stated. It is a business communication which is part of an ongoing
negotiation until a sales price can be agreed upon.
===========================================
—————————-

Let’s see if he still asks for an appraisal
Iconik is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 10:34 PM THREAD STARTER               #13 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 23
Audified is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Haha nice, I decided to send him a reply. I said 1,000,000 Euro take it or leave it. He replied with "Can you go lower".
Audified is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 02:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
New Member
 
laughics's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
laughics is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Yes, I received the same email from thenamepros.com, His name was Craig Wademon
laughics is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger