NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Anyone had one of these ? Domain Renewal Group

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2011, 07:16 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
exsedo's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: England
Posts: 2,668
exsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond reputeexsedo has a reputation beyond repute
 



Anyone had one of these ? Domain Renewal Group


I received a letter the other day from an organisation called Domain Renewal Group.
They have looked up one of my domains and used it in the letter to make a renewal form.

The thing is they are charging £25 for 1 year,
£40 for 2 years (save £10), and £75 for 5 years (save £50) for .com domains.

Yea right. As if I am going to pay that ridiculous amount when it only cost half that amount at my registrar.

I looked on the back of the letter and there is a registration agreement T/C in microscopic font.
Looking through it with a magnifying glass I discovered that Enom inc, Wild West Domains inc, Brandon Gray Internet Services Inc, and Domain Renewal Group are all involved in this, and the contact address is:-
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/713113-anyone-had-one-these-domain-renewal.html
56 Gloucester Rd, Suite 526,
LONDON, ENGLAND SW7 4UB.

Enom must be in a real desperate position to be trying to scam people like this.
exsedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 08:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,621
Bannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatnessBannen Has achieved greatness
 


Animal Cruelty Child Abuse Cancer
I receive one of these letters every few months, but I think it's by a Canadian version of that registrar, I think the name is the same but my letters come from Canada. But to the same effect: they say one of my domains is expiring soon and I can transfer it to them and register for another year for *only* $75 for the first year.

They obviously output a sizable investment in doing this, since they use professionally-printed letters and envelopes, so they must suck in enough out-of-the-loop domain owners to actually make it worth their while.

Too bad. Yet another scam to bilk the less-educated domain owners out of $65 more than they need to pay for a domain renewal.
__________________
BANNEN'S Best Available Dot.Com's List!
Bannen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 08:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,900
Erdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond reputeErdy has a reputation beyond repute
 



I received one of those. They try to scam clueless people. Wild west domains is owned by godaddy. Both godaddy and enom provide reseller accounts. They are just a reseller.
Erdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Domains my Dominion
 
sdsinc's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,963
sdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatness
 


Third World Education Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Animal Rescue Animal Cruelty AIDS/HIV Animal Rescue Wildlife Breast Cancer Animal Rescue Wildlife
BTW I seem to remember that Brandon Gray was terminated as a CIRA registrar (.ca domains) recently.
__________________
NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists
sdsinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
TheBaldOne's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,365
TheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud ofTheBaldOne has much to be proud of
 



Yes, as Bannen above I get them every few months.

It is of course a total scam against the uninformed domain owners who actually make up the majority of domain owners. The thing is they rely on the fact that many domain owners actually already pay between 3 and 10 times the cost of a domain registration for their domain anyway. Just a few hundred yards from me is a company that charges between £25-£50 a year for a domain renewal, they even charge up £600 for a basic site design using a CMS that is totally free - the owner has to upload everything themselves. The joke is that people pay it willingly because they know no better.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=713113

Anyway back the OP, just be satisfied that they have wasted money on sending you the letter, this is how I look on it.
TheBaldOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Largest aftermarket keyword .tv sale (DONT MISS THIS OPPORTUNITY) *AllThings.tv* .TV Marketplace 8 09-01-2008 03:37 AM
RoyalGroup.org | taken in 26 TLDs | OVT score | $1 start EG.domains Domains For Sale - Auctions 15 11-16-2007 08:38 AM
FIRESALE! Hundreds of Great names! inspiration100 Domains For Sale - Fixed Price 1 09-03-2006 02:13 PM
Domain Registration for only $7.43!! FruitFish For Sale / Advertising Board 3 09-10-2003 07:40 AM

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger