| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,268
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Is this a Scam? This domain is registered in my name. Currently housed at GoDaddy. I received an email from "CertifiedOfferService@networksolutions.com" Is this a scam? If not, then what is the fee to me? How do I get paid? Content is like this. "A third party (the Buyer) using our Certified Offer Service® has made an offer to buy XXXXXXXXXX.COM. The Buyer has entered into a binding agreement with Network Solutions to use our Certified Offer Service and funds to purchase the domain name have been pre-authorized on the Buyer's credit card. Domain Name: XXXXXXXXXX.COM Offer Amount: $XX.00 USD Offer Expires: May-XX-11 00:00 EDT To accept, reject, or propose a minimum acceptable price, go to: certifiedofferservice.com/CertifiedOffer/offer/initialOffer.do?transactionKey=XXXXXXXXXXXXX Secured Link. Do Not Forward. From this page, you can opt-out of receiving future offers for this or any domain name registration associated with your email address. Certified Offer Service is a Network Solutions® service that enables customers to make an offer to buy a domain name that has already been registered. If the offer has already expired, for a certain period of time you may ask the Buyer to reopen the offer. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/713092-is-this-a-scam.html Network Solutions is the first and one of the largest registrars of domain name services. Additional information about Network Solutions is available at networksolutions.com.
Last edited by mis_chiff; 04-30-2011 at 08:18 AM.
|
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Extension Agnostic Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 7,918
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Make sure the offer email comes from NetSol and don't transfer the domain before payment. But this looks like a genuine netsol certified offer and yes, it is a legitimate program. Good Luck
__________________ |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #4 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,268
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Thanks for letting me know. This is the first time I get this kind of offer from Netsol. I was skeptical because the link leads to another domain instead of networksolutions.com. I've made a counteroffer and will wait and see how this goes. Thanks again.
| ||||
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Domains my Dominion Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,963
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | If it comes from netsol, it's legit. I once sold a name for 3K through this service. I believe netsol use tracking links (to see if you received the mail and clicked the link). Be aware that unlike Sedo, there is no room for back and forth negotiation, it's pretty much like this:
Good luck.
__________________ NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #6 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,268
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Thanks for letting me know how it works. Wouldn't the buyer be able to re-initiate a new offer if he doesn't like my counter offer?
| ||||
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 979
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The fee is $19 for offers under $25,000. | ||||
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 979
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | DOTT ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=713092 You can't use SEDO to handle an offer coming thru NetSol's Certified Offer Service. NetSol is making an offer to the domain owner on behalf of the buyer. The domain owner does not know who the buyer is. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #10 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,268
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Thank you everybody for your advice. I have accepted the Buyers offer. Low $xxx. I've got a question now. Netsol advised me to change the registrant name as this will be the Payee's name on the cheque. So I updated my registrant's info. Now this domain is housed at GoDaddy. And GD prohibits transfer of Domain within 60 days of update. So,... will this cause a problem in the transfer from GD to Netsol? |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Domains my Dominion Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,963
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Indeed you have three days to make sure the registrant info is accurate and up to date. Perhaps you or Netsol will have to call GD and ask for the 'lock' to be lifted then. I believe it depends on which kind of info is updated, if you didn't touch the admin E-mail maybe it will be okay but I would leave a note to Netsol just in case.
__________________ NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| New creditcard scam!!! | mis_chiff | Warnings & Alerts | 8 | 07-30-2007 10:45 PM |
| LLL.com Scam Here on NamePros - BEWARE! - BMU.com | Spade | "Short" Domain Discussion | 28 | 01-24-2007 02:07 PM |
| Area Code Scam - Must Read! | sbaik | Warnings & Alerts | 9 | 05-19-2006 05:52 PM |
| enom scam right here in this forum | domainnameappraisals | Warnings & Alerts | 7 | 06-28-2003 10:34 AM |