NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page ceo@webnamecorp.co Michael D'Amato Warning. Another scam

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2011, 01:08 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 69
financialaidnyc will become famous soon enough
 



ceo@webnamecorp.co Michael D'Amato Warning. Another scam


Look at these emails. He even replied when I called him out as a scammer. Let's see if he replies to my last emaail


I'm thinking about 3,500 - 3,900 USD for your domain. What do you think about this price range?

Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It's very important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my partners trust.

To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies. Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers:
thenamepros.com/Archive/72906418.htm

Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name?

Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.
If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15% discount.

After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations.

What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire transfer, PayPal.com or something else?
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/706124-ceo-webnamecorp-co-michael-damato-warning.html

Hope we can come to an agreement fast.

Looking forward to your reply.



Thanks Michael, but I don't use appraisals. I received an email similar to yours before, with the same kind of story line, an exact same link.

Google your own email address--it comes up with a scam alert.

I'll pass.

Thanks though!
R


As a seller you should provide me with an appraisal first. This is a reasonable practice.

I've found not all the appraisals are accurate. So I accept real manual appraisals from trusted sources only.

I don't trust $14-$20 services. Nobody will do a research for $14. We need a real manual service.

As to the most known brands: the more orders the company gets, the less time they can afford to spend on each appraisal.

I wanted to use AccurateDomains.com but looks like this company has a bad reputation. I also read some bad review about Afternic's appraisal service.

I was told about manual research service from DomainMart.com. It costs - $200/hour.

Many experienced sellers suggested us CertifiedDomainValue.com as a trustworth manual service. They charge about 50 eur name not per hour. We've read only positive comments about them. And I have my own positive experience with this company and their support




Again, thank you. However, I am not interested in selling this domain at cost of an appraisal. I've sold in the past, and the end user never asked for an appraisal.

please google your email: ceo@webnamecorp.com

Scam alerts on every page, and your text verbatim. Please stop wasting my time.
Last edited by mis_chiff; 03-10-2011 at 08:30 PM.
financialaidnyc is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Aldriel is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I received the same e-mail from the same guy.

Offered me 6000-8000$ for a domain barely worth 300-500$...

I offered him a deal, only 2000$ for the domain, but we skip the appraisal...

let's see what he'll reply. p;
Aldriel is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 08:24 PM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 69
financialaidnyc will become famous soon enough
 



Aldriel, good luck! haha. These guys are persistent! "Michael" actually replied to my email calling him out on a scam. He forwarded me to an appraisal forum called "thenamepros.com". Check it out. Bogus, bogus, bogus. I bet these companies rake in quite a bit from unsuspecting new domineers. I'm such a skeptic, that I google everyone's email to find out if "scam" comes up. Newest email below:

I see, but it's a standard practice to show independent valuation to
buyers/resellers. Nobody will do business without it. I'm a businessman and
have no intention of changing rules which help both parties to avoid
additional risks.

Of course, investors never take into account auto-generated valuations. So
manual valuation is a "must" too.

I read the following information about appraisals at:

thenamepros.com/Archive/72906418.htm

Without the independent valuation from a trusted source we don't spend a
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=706124
penny. This is our financial policy. So our offer is just a rought estimate.
If the appraisal comes higher we are ready to offer a bit more. If it comes
lower we will discuss the price with you again.

Thank you for understanding. I'm looking forward to doing business with you
Last edited by mis_chiff; 03-10-2011 at 08:30 PM.
financialaidnyc is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 05:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Aldriel is an unknown quantity at this point
 





I received the exact same e-mail.

I guess he doesn't event really read our replies...

Got to admit that copy/paste does save a lot of time. ;p
Last edited by Aldriel; 03-11-2011 at 06:05 AM.
Aldriel is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 11:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Along with BatMan..
 
Robin's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Web
Posts: 1,361
Robin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant future
 




Hahaah...he must be using some bot. Lol these people should invest the same time in building something more constructive.
Robin is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 12:39 AM THREAD STARTER               #6 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 69
financialaidnyc will become famous soon enough
 



"If i were to be a scammer, i would use cut and paste!"
financialaidnyc is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Response to Scam Warning brainstorm Warnings & Alerts 26 03-23-2005 02:50 AM
BigNames scam warning sharapov Warnings & Alerts 0 02-24-2005 12:47 PM
Sedo Scam warning! Redleg Warnings & Alerts 6 05-25-2004 03:23 PM
warning for newbies: livsnyter.com appraisal scam armstrong Warnings & Alerts 25 04-28-2004 03:10 AM
WARNING: TNTCash.com is a scam Acroplex Marketing Techniques 11 12-17-2003 04:57 AM

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger