NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Beware www.appraisalnow.info

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2011, 11:32 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
tohkon is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Beware www.appraisalnow.info


Some guy sent me an email(From kevinpruett@techemail.com), about 15 hours ago asking If I want to sell one of my domains. Here is the message:

Quote:
Hi,

I noticed you owned the domain Goldsmiths.Info and was curious if you still have it for sale? If you do, what are you asking for it? Would you take an offer of low to mid $x,xxx?

Have a great day,
Kevin
I replied saying sure, and asked for his offer.

Some minutes ago, he replied with the following message:
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/703323-beware-www-appraisalnow-info.html

Quote:
Hi ,

Thanks for the reply. Do you have an independent valuation from industry experts [appraisal]? The reason I ask it because I buy, wait a little while and resale it. If I am to resale it, I would need to be able to make a profit and an appraisal helps me make that decision.

I've looked around and found that appraisalnow.info is a very modest appraisal service and we both can make a good deal.

If we agree on a price, how do you accept payments? Paypal.com?

Thanks and have a great day,
Kevin
LOL, for sure another appraising scheme. The funny is that the domain was registere on 18 february 2011, 2 days ago. haha

These guys just make my life a sweet and laughing life.

Anyway, beware, if he REALLY want to buy ur domain, just demand that he pays the appraisal himself. If he doesn't want, just kick his ass haha.

I said that. Now I am waiting his reply, lets see if he will "agree" on paying the appraisal.

Peace.
Last edited by mis_chiff; 02-20-2011 at 11:42 AM. Reason: link to site removed
tohkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 06:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
DomainersUniversity.com
 
Gene's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oswego, NY
Posts: 4,702
Gene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond reputeGene has a reputation beyond repute
 


Member of the Month
April 2005
Ethan Allen Fund Cancer Survivorship Baby Health Cystic Fibrosis Marrow Donor Program Parkinson's Disease Child Abuse Save a Life Animal Rescue Save a Life Save a Life Animal Rescue
I just got the same email. Gaaaah.
__________________
.
.

Expired Domain Search -- ExpiredDomainBoss.com | Sell Domain Names -- DomainProfitsClub.com
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,516
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



Please consider reporting these emails as spam to their hosting provider and domain registrar. Send them a link to this thread as well.

It's hard to prove the appraisal scam is fraud, but SPAM is easy to report them for. Thanks!
nielsencl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 01:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
M.Y
NamePros Member
 
M.Y's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 25
M.Y is an unknown quantity at this point
 



i got caught by something similar a couple of years ago when i was new to domains. my advise to anyone who realises after paying that they have been caught up in this kind of scam is to immediately contact your credit card company who will be able to refund you the costs
__________________
hotnam.es
M.Y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 12:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
renek's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 499
renek is a jewel in the roughrenek is a jewel in the roughrenek is a jewel in the rough
 



They send this to all new domainers, would love to know how much they make with that.
__________________
Pm me for a PR3 link priced at $5 per year
www.a--g.com
renek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 04:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 530
xtmoney will become famous soon enoughxtmoney will become famous soon enough
 



i receive the same email..ignore that email for sure it's scam
xtmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 11:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 257
DomainOutlaw will become famous soon enoughDomainOutlaw will become famous soon enough
 



I love getting these emails and messing with the people.
DomainOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 10:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
fringe's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Midlands, Uk
Posts: 76
fringe is an unknown quantity at this point
 




I recieved exactly the same email off this guy, sent him a link to the sedo page for the domain and never heard from him again, lol.
__________________
fringe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 263
jude11 is on a distinguished road
 



Been there years ago and sad to say I fell for it in my green stage. Scam...period.
__________________
Dudes.tel Toons.tel Rum.tel Pork.tel Snack.tel Pot.tel Hayly.com BankCompanies.com Spackles.com 1P1.net PlayTime.mobi 0000.biz CookingRum.com
jude11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BEWARE !! a GoDaddy look-a-like email will steal your details... Kamikaze Warnings & Alerts 3 01-15-2011 06:59 AM
SCAMMED ALERT!!! Members Beware !!! Bidding on Non Existed Domain Name on an Auction? master9888 Warnings & Alerts 15 07-29-2010 12:42 PM
INTERNATIONAL: Beware of Domain Scams! WhoNet Domain Name Discussion 0 08-27-2008 09:22 AM
Beware of user euphorik 99, studioexcel, and possibly NuPixel eX Sergio Warnings & Alerts 2 05-29-2006 03:59 AM
Beware! Fewski The Break Room 11 02-24-2005 01:31 AM

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger