NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page New bogus renewal emails!

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
8 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2010, 07:37 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tim Schoon's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,180
Tim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond reputeTim Schoon has a reputation beyond repute
 


Save a Life Protect Our Planet Save a Life Protect Our Planet

New bogus renewal emails!


Just got this email from lamornakruger@wifun.com
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/687052-new-bogus-renewal-emails.html

They send out fake renewal emails, the origin seems to be chinese.

-----

Attention: Important Notice

Domain Name: IDAM.COM

Bill To: Owner, Domain Invoice # 1289618264
Invoice Date Nov 12, 2010
PE, Netherlands Terms Net 15
61746 - US Due Date Nov 27, 2010
P.O. #
SECURE ONLINE PAYMENT
Domain Name Registration Price Term
IDAM.COM Nov 12, 2010 - Nov 12, 2011 $75.00 1 Year
Attn Owner, Domain

This letter is to inform you that it's time to send in your search engine registration for IDAM.COM.

Failure to complete your search engine registration by Nov 27, 2010 may result in the cancellation of this offer (making it difficult for your customers to locate you using search engines on the web).

Your registration includes search engine submission for IDAM.COM for 1 year. You are under no obligation to pay the amount stated above unless you accept this offer by Nov 27, 2010. This notice is not an invoice. It is a courtesy reminder to register IDAM.COM for search engine listing so that your customers can locate you on the web.

This Offer for IDAM.COM will expire on Nov 27, 2010. Act today!

For Domain Name:
IDAM.COM
SECURE ONLINE PAYMENT
Tim Schoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Yup. It's cold.

 
verbster's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2,785
verbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant future
 


Parkinson's Disease Parkinson's Disease Protect Our Planet Child Abuse Save a Life Animal Rescue Special Olympics Protect Our Planet Save a Life Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS) Animal Cruelty Wildlife Autism Save a Life
I just got something similar from "Registration Notice" which turned out to be bessvillareal/at/cz163.com, a Chinese site. It looked like a semi-offical invoice, with all my whois info arranged nicely, but had no company name or anything. They wanted $75 for this:

Attn xxxxxxx

This letter is to inform you that it's time to send in your search engine registration for xxxxxRACE.COM.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=687052

Failure to complete your search engine registration by Dec 3, 2010 may result in the cancellation of this offer (making it difficult for your customers to locate you using search engines on the web).

Your registration includes search engine submission for xxxxxRACE.COM for 1 year. You are under no obligation to pay the amount stated above unless you accept this offer by Dec 3, 2010. This notice is not an invoice. It is a courtesy reminder to register xxxxxRACE.COM for search engine listing so that your customers can locate you on the web.


And it had a big link to "Secure Online Payment" at the botttom that I didn't click.

What a hoax!
__________________
When in doubt, do the unexpected.
verbster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One word infos - high value - bargain prices - Reproduced.info + 33 more accent Domains For Sale - Fixed Price 5 12-28-2008 07:22 AM
domains for sale!!! bd77 Domains For Sale - Auctions 50 10-08-2008 02:43 PM
FIRESALE! Hundreds of Great names! inspiration100 Domains For Sale - Fixed Price 1 09-03-2006 02:13 PM
Domain Registration for only $7.43!! FruitFish For Sale / Advertising Board 3 09-10-2003 07:40 AM

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger