| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Forum Moderator ![]() Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: USA
Posts: 2,152
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Domain Service Notice Got another one of those spam emails trying to trick me into buying some annual "Search Engine Submission" for a domain (which btw I dropped over 2 years ago ). Generally these originate from a free email with a bogus "reply to". The mailing address is a questionable mail forwarding service. BUT, in the headers, this one also traces back to domaindesigns220.com (registered at eNom). Doing a whois on that, we get a name, another gmail address, and TONGTONG INC. as a company name. They DO say it's a solicitation not a bill so technically what they're doing may not be "illegal", and I don't think anyone here would fall for it, but still it's spammy/scammy. If anyone has less-savvy clients who manage their own domains, give them a heads up. TEXT BELOW: (my details omitted) ----------------------- Attention: Important Notice DOMAIN SERVICE NOTICE Complete and return by fax to: 1-646-385-7542 47-47 36th Street #16452 Long Island City, NY 11101 United States of America ATT: [name] ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT - [email] [address] WWW.xxxxxxxx.xxx Domain Name: xxxxxxxx.xxx Search Engine Submission Requested Reply September 27,2010 PART I: REVIEW SOLICITATION Attn: [name] As a courtesy to domain name holders, we are sending you this notification for your business Domain name search engine registration. This letter is to inform you that it's time to send in your registration and save. Failure to complete your Domain name search engine registration by the expiration date may result in cancellation of this offer making it difficult for your customers to locate you on the web. Privatization allows the consumer a choice when registering. Search engine subscription includes domain name search engine submission. You are under no obligation to pay the amounts stated below unless you accept this offer. Do not discard, this notice is not an invoice it is a courtesy reminder to register your domain name search engine listing so your customers can locate you on the web. This Notice for: WWW.xxxxxxxx.xxx will expire on September 27,2010 Act today! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- DETAIL OF SERVICE: ANNUAL WEBSITE SEARCH ENGINE SUBMISSION FOR DOMAIN NAME WWW.xxxxxxxx.xxx Detail of Service: SEARCH SUBMISSIONS Reply by Date: 09/27/2010 For Domain Name: xxxxxxxx.xxx *100% SATISFACTION IS GUARANTEED OR YOUR MONEY BACK Select Term Your Existing Domain Period Covered Price xxxxxxxx.xxx [ ] 1 year 09/27/2010 - 09/27/2011 $75.00 [ ] 2 year 09/27/2010 - 09/27/2012 $119.00 [ ] 5 year 09/27/2010 - 09/27/2015 $199.00 [ ] 10 year -Most Recommended- 09/27/2010 - 09/27/2020 $295.00 [ ] Lifetime (NEW!) Limited time offer - Best value! Lifetime $999.00 ---------- MESSAGE HEADERS (recipient details omitted) ------------- Return-path: <websrvty@hotmail.com> Received: from server1.domaindesigns220.com ([unknown] [79.143.178.10]) by vms169133.mailsrvcs.net (Sun Java(tm) System Messaging Server 7u2-7.02 32bit (built Apr 16 2009)) with ESMTP id <0L9800CPAXSLLXH1@vms169133.mailsrvcs.net> for [email]; Fri, 24 Sep 2010 05:14:47 -0500 (CDT) Received: from websrvty by server1.domaindesigns220.com with local (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from <websrvty@hotmail.com>) id 1Oz5Im-0005dG-EU for [email]; Fri, 24 Sep 2010 12:14:48 +0200 ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/678804-domain-service-notice.html Date: Fri, 24 Sep 2010 12:14:48 +0200 From: Domain Services <websrvty@hotmail.com> Subject: Domain Notification: [name] This is your Final Notice of Domain Listing - xxxxxxxx.xxx X-Originating-IP: [79.143.178.10] To: [email] Message-id: <E1Oz5Im-0005dG-EU@server1.domaindesigns220.com> MIME-version: 1.0 X-Mailer: AT Content-type: text/html Content-transfer-encoding: 7BIT Importance: High Priority: High Precedence: HTUV X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - server1.domaindesigns220.com X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - xxxxxxx.xxx X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [500 500] / [47 12] X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - hotmail.com ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=678804 Original-recipient: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
__________________ Enlytend Solutions - Internet marketing and web development Was my advice helpful? Please consider a small donation to the National Canine Cancer Foundation - a tax deductible 501(c)(3)that directly funds cancer research |
| | |