NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Is instantdomainsearch.com bent?

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2010, 01:02 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 169
clearskies is just really niceclearskies is just really niceclearskies is just really niceclearskies is just really nice
 


Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life

Is instantdomainsearch.com bent?


Yesterday I was looking for a domain name to build a wildlife site on and noticed on instantdomainsearch that HighlandLife com was available with the net taken. I had a good look at the net website, say for 15 mins, and by the time I went to register the com at godaddy it was gone to:
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/675999-is-instantdomainsearch-com-bent.html

[I][I][I]Registrant : Andre Schneider
Zeughausgasse 9a, 6300 Zug, Bern, Switzerland.
(6300)

Domain Name: HIGHLANDLIFE.COM
Registrar: Gabia,Inc. (GABIA.COM)

Administrative, Technical, Billing Contact:
Andre Schneider info@domcollect.com
Zeughausgasse 9a, 6300 Zug, Bern, Switzerland.
(Tel) (fax) +49.221.995553.10

Record created on september 06, 2010
Record expires on 2011-09-06
Record last updated on 2010-09-07

Domain servers in listed order:

ns1.domcollect.com
ns2.domcollect.com

The parked page gives phil@domcollect.com as the selling contact.

Coincidence or is this common? Should I not use instantdomainsearch?
clearskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
SiberForum's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,459
SiberForum is a jewel in the roughSiberForum is a jewel in the roughSiberForum is a jewel in the rough
 



Well. If you think that could be good domain name I suppose you should start fighting for it.
SiberForum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 03:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sparhawke's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,726
Sparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond reputeSparhawke has a reputation beyond repute
 


Parkinson's Disease Animal Cruelty
Spot lesson maybe?

Only use reputable sources for hunting down domain names, and keep away from this one as they don't seem to immune to screwing over their customers.

I certainly wont ever be using them if what you say is true but lets face it, what do you expect from such a dodgy looking site?
Sparhawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:13 PM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 169
clearskies is just really niceclearskies is just really niceclearskies is just really niceclearskies is just really nice
 


Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life
Thanks for the responses. It's a nice domain but probably not worth fighting over.

I was thinking that it might have been quite easy for them to set up their site to record examples of com available when others are taken - really sneaky, but effective.

I think it happened to me before on the site, but it was a couple of years back when I just started looking. The site was also recommended to me by a developer, so the penny didn't drop originally.

The case the other night is straightforward, though, and I pass it on to the community as a warning to avoid this horribly underhand site.

Jay
clearskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger