NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Craigslist phishing - email sender breakdown help

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2010, 09:50 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
enlong is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Craigslist phishing - email sender breakdown help


Hey, can you guys help me better understand where this email came from?

Quote:
Received: from dkc8.tomeliotfisch.com ([12.49.219.227]) by col0-mc2-f31.Col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.4675);
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/672104-craigslist-phishing-email-sender-breakdown-help.html

Fri, 13 Aug 2010 13:17:46 -0700

Received: from User ([92.84.225.250]) by dkc8.tomeliotfisch.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.4675);

Fri, 13 Aug 2010 13:16:06 -0700
From what I understand, this email originally came from "User" with the ip address 92.84.225.250. An IP check reveals this to be located somewhere in Romania. The server it came from seems to be from tomeliotfisch.com which is an architect website based in San Francisco, CA?

Help, I don't get it. Why is an email from someone in Romania being sent from a domain based on architecture in San Francisco?

When I trace the IP address from the user, it shows it as related to ARtelecom Network Operation Center in Romania. So how does the person sending the email get it to show it being sent from tomeliotfisch.com?
enlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger